Bulls confirm traveling squad to Italy

Bulls confirm traveling squad to Italy

The  Bulls have announced an exciting traveling squad, to embark on their inaugural quest to Italy to be crowned Pro Rugby Rainbow Cup Champions.


The 28-man travelling party will be headlined by new captain Marcell Coetzee and is made up of 16 forwards and 12 backs.


The Bulls kick off their Currie Cup campaign on the same day as the final against Benetton in Treviso. They face off against Western Province at Loftus Versfeld.


Springboks Morne Steyn, Marco van Staden and Trevor Nyakane have linked up with the national side meaning they miss out on the squad. 

Morne Steyn of the Bulls scores during the Super Rugby match between Vodacom Bulls and Blues at Loftus Versfeld on February 22, 2020 in Pretoria, South Africa. (Photo by Lee Warren/Gallo Images/Getty Images)

Duane Vermeulen, Sintu Manjezi, Arno Botha, Embrose Papier, and Elrigh Louw are all sidelined through injury.


Prop Lizo Gqoboka does give the side a boost having returned from injury while the likes of Gio Aplon and Nizaam Carr made their returns to fitness last week. 

Lizo Gqoboka of the Vodacom Bulls in action during the PRO14 Rainbow Cup SA match between Vodacom Bulls and Emirates Lions at Loftus Versfeld Stadium on May 01, 2021 in Pretoria, South Africa. (Photo by Lee Warren/Gallo Images/Getty Images)


Sydney Tobias, the son of former Springbok flyhalf Errol Tobias, is also included in the squad as hooker cover.


Lizo Gqoboka, Gerhard Steenekamp, Johan Grobbelaar, Schalk Erasmus, Sydney Tobias, Jacques Van Rooyen, Mornay Smith, Robert Hunt, Ruan Nortje, Janko Swanepoel, Jan Uys, Walt Steenkamp, WJ Steenkamp, Muller Uys, Marcell Coetzee, Nizaam Carr 



Ivan Van Zyl, Zak Burger, Keagan Johannes, Chris Smith, Clinton Swart, Cornal Hendricks, Marco Janse van Vuren, Stravino Jacobs, Madosh Tambwe, Dawid Kellerman, Gio Aplon, David Kriel




Latest News