United Rugby Championship Quarter-Finals Team Announcements

United Rugby Championship Quarter-Finals Team Announcements

The teams for this weekend's Quarter-Finals of the BKT United Rugby Championship have been named with all details of match officials and broadcast information below.


  • Three changes from last week’s win over Ulster see Antoine Frisch, John Hodnett and Gavin Coombes come into the Munster side
  • Reuben Morgan-Williams starts at scrum half for Ospreys, with Owen Williams partnering him at out half

Munster v Ospreys

Thomond Park, Limerick – KO 19.35 IRE & UK / 20.35 ITA & SA

Referee: Hollie Davidson (SRU, 14th league game)

AR 1: Andrea Piardi (FIR) AR 2: Gianluca Gnecchi (FIR)

TMO: Andrew McMenemy (SRU)

Live on: RTÉ, S4C, Premier Sports, SuperSport, Flo Rugby & URC.tv

Munster: Simon Zebo, Calvin Nash, Antoine Frisch, Seán O'Brien, Shane Daly, Jack Crowley, Craig Casey, Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer, RG Snyman, Tadhg Beirne (CAPT), Peter O'Mahony, John Hodnett, Gavin Coombes

Replacements: Diarmuid Barron, John Ryan, Oli Jager, Jack O'Donoghue, Alex Kendellen, Conor Murray, Tony Butler, Mike Haley

Ospreys: Max Nagy, Luke Morgan, Owen Watkin, Keiran Williams, Keelan Giles, Owen Williams, Reuben Morgan-Williams, Nicky Smith, Dewi Lake, Tom Botha, James Ratti, Huw Sutton, Jac Morgan, Justin Tipuric (CAPT), Morgan Morris

Replacements: Sam Parry, Gareth Thomas, Rhys Henry, Victor Sekekete, Morgan Morse, Luke Davies, Luke Scully, Harri Houston

Ospreys Head Coach Toby Booth said“We’ve got ourselves to this window of opportunity and we’re excited about it, but we won’t underestimate how tough the game will be. Like us, Munster have got a tight group, with a lot of quality in it, and that makes them a very dangerous opponent.”


  • Sebastian de Klerk starts on the wing for Vodacom Bulls
  • Malakai Fekitoa returns alongside Ignacio Brex to make up Benetton’s centre pairing

Vodacom Bulls v Benetton

Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Pretoria – KO 14.30 IRE & UK / 15.30 ITA & SA

Referee: Mike Adamson (SRU, 82nd game)

AR 1: Sam Grove-White (SRU) AR 2: Adam Jones (WRU)

TMO: Ben Whitehouse (WRU)

Live on: SuperSport, Sky Italia, TG4, Premier Sports, Flo Rugby & URC.tv

Vodacom Bulls: Willie Le Roux, Sebastian de Klerk, David Kriel, Harold Vorster, Kurt-Lee Arendse, Johan Goosen, Embrose Papier,  Gerhard Steenekamp, Johan Grobbelaar, Wilco Louw, Ruan Vermaak, Ruan Nortje (CAPT), Nizaam Carr, Elrigh Louw, Cameron Hanekom

Replacements: Akker van der Merwe, Simphiwe Matanzima, Francois Klopper, Reinhardt Ludwig, Jannes Kirsten, Keagan Johannes, Chris Smith, Sergeal Petersen

Benetton: Rhyno Smith, Tommaso Menoncello, Malakai Fekitoa, Ignacio Brex, Onisi Ratave, Tomas Albornoz, Andy Uren, Thomas Gallo, Bautista Bernasconi, Simione Ferrari, Edoardo Iachizzi, Federico Ruzza, Alessandro Izekor, Michele Lamaro (CAPT), Toa Halafihi

Replacements: Gianmarco Lucchesi, Mirco Spagnolo, Giosuè Zilocchi, Eli Snyman, Niccolò Cannone, Lorenzo Cannone, Alessandro Garbisi, Jacob Umaga

Vodacom Bulls Director of Rugby Jake White: “Canan injured his hand against the Sharks last weekend and will be going for surgery today. It is one of those where they will only be able to see how serious it is once they open him up. It is his index finger (that is fractured) which influences his passing, on top of his pinkie a few weeks ago which he has strapped before. I am not sure if it will be one of those that you can strap in a couple of weeks and play but he remains unavailable this week and the next. From the Boks point of view, I hope it is not that serious so that he is ready for the Irish series.”

Benetton Head Coach Marco Bortolami said: “The clash between the two forward packs will be decisive and for this reason we have opted to go to the bench with the 6 plus 2. There are also some changes to inject fresh and new energy from the first minute and the other boys will come off the bench to finish the job. Between the backs we chose to move Menoncello as a winger and insert Fekitoa in the centre to add the maximum physicality possible. Furthermore, Malakai gives us a lot of experience having already played matches of this caliber many times; I'm sure he will make a great contribution”


  • James Ryan returns to Leinster’s starting XV for the first time since the R17 loss to Ulster and captains the side
  • Matty Rea set to make his 100th appearance for Ulster

Leinster v Ulster

Aviva Stadium, Dublin – KO 17.00 IRE & UK / 18.00 ITA & SA

Referee: Andrew Brace (IRFU, 95th league game)

AR 1: Craig Evans (WRU) AR 2: Eoghan Cross (IRFU)

TMO: Brain MacNeice (IRFU)

Live on: TG4, Premier Sports, SuperSport, Flo Rugby & URC.tv

Leinster: Jimmy O’Brien, Jordan Larmour, Robbie Henshaw, Jamie Osborne, James Lowe,  Ross Byrne, Jamison Gibson-Park, Andrew Porter, Dan Sheehan, Tadhg Furlong, Joe McCarthy, James Ryan (CAPT), Ryan Baird, Josh van der Flier, Caelan Doris

Replacements: Rónan Kelleher, Cian Healy, Michael Ala’alatoa, Ross Molony, Max Deegan, Luke McGrath, Sam Prendergast, Ciarán Frawley

Ulster: Stewart Moore, Mike Lowry, Will Addison, Stuart McCloskey, Jacob Stockdale, Billy Burns, John Cooney, Eric O’Sullivan, Rob Herring (CAPT), Tom O’Toole, Harry Sheridan, Cormac Izuchukwu, Matty Rea, David McCann, Nick Timoney

Replacements: Tom Stewart, Andy Warwick, Scott Wilson, Greg Jones, Dave Ewers, Nathan Doak, Ethan McIlroy, Jude Postlethwaite


  • George Turner set for 100th appearance for Glasgow Warriors if called upon from the bench
  • Warrick Gelant and Paul de Wet make their return to DHL Stormers match-day squad

Glasgow Warriors v DHL Stormers

Scotstoun Stadium, Glasgow – KO 19.35 IRE & UK / 20.35 ITA & SA

Referee: Chris Busby (IRFU, 43rd league game)

AR 1: Frank Murphy (IRFU) AR 2: Peter Martin (IRFU)

TMO: Mark Patton (IRFU)

Live on: Premier Sports, SuperSport, Flo Rugby & URC.tv

Glasgow Warriors: Josh McKay, Sebastian Cancelliere, Huw Jones, Sione Tuipulotu, Kyle Steyn (CAPT), Tom Jordan, George Horne, Jamie Bhatti, Johnny Matthews, Zander Fagerson, Scott Cummings, Richie Gray, Matt Fagerson, Rory Darge, Jack Dempsey

Replacements: George Turner, Nathan McBeth, Oli Kebble, Max Williamson, Euan Ferrie, Henco Venter, Jamie Dobie, Ross Thompson

DHL Stormers: Warrick Gelant, Suleiman Hartzenberg, Dan du Plessis, Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu, Ben Loader, Manie Libbok, Herschel Jantjies, Brok Harris, Joseph Dweba, Frans Malherbe, Salmaan Moerat (CAPT), Ruben van Heerden, Willie Engelbrecht, Ben-Jason Dixon, Hacjivah Dayimani

Replacements: Andre-Hugo Venter, Sti Sithole, Neethling Fouche, Adre Smith, Marcel Theunissen, Connor Evans, Paul de Wet, Jean-Luc du Plessis

Glasgow Warriors Head Coach Franco Smith said: “The Stormers have a proud record in the BKT URC playoffs, and we know they will be coming to Scotstoun intent on continuing that record tomorrow night. They have some brilliant individuals who have the ability to hurt you from anywhere on the field, in addition to being a physical unit with and without the ball. We’re looking forward to the challenge and we know the Warrior Nation will make themselves known as they get behind us tomorrow night.”

DHL Stormers Director of Rugby John Dobson said"We know that it will take a top performance to stay alive in this competition and that is a challenge we have embraced. We will have to do it without a number of our frontline players due to injuries, but it is testament to the depth we have built and the quality of our squad that there is plenty of belief. Despite having almost a full team ruled out, we have built up some good momentum heading into the play-offs. This is our first BKT URC play-off match away from home after playing six at DHL Stadium and we want to show that we can rise to the occasion."

Latest News