Wayne Pivac Names Wales Team To Face Australia

Wayne Pivac Names Wales Team To Face Australia

Wales head coach Wayne Pivac has named his team for the final test of the 2021 Autumn Nations Series.

Principality Stadium will stage the campaign finale as Wales welcome Australia for the first time since claiming a home victory over the Southern Hemisphere side, in November 2018.

Dan Biggar, who kicked the winning penalty in that tense 9-6 victory three years ago, remains in the outside half position for Saturday’s clash with Cardiff Rugby’s Tomos Williams returning to the starting scrum half berth.

Winger Josh Adams is named in the starting XV for the final test after pulling out with a calf injury ahead of kick-off last week. He’s joined in the back-three by try-scoring speedster Louis Rees-Zammit and Player of the Match against Fiji, fullback Liam Williams.

Uilisi Halaholo and Nick Tompkins, both late replacements to the bench and starting line-up respectively last weekend, get the nod as the centre partnership.

Hooker Ryan Elias remains the only constant in the front row with props Wyn Jones and Tomas Francis returning to the starting line up. Elias is one of only three players to start all four of Wales’ Autumn Nations Series tests, alongside Adam Beard and Taine Basham.

Seb Davies gets his first start of the campaign as he partners Adam Beard in the second row. Ellis Jenkins will lead the side from the blindside flank with Taine Basham returning to the openside as Aaron Wainwright returns to the number 8 position, having missed out on last weekend’s test due to injury.

Wales team to face Australia, at Principality Stadium, on Saturday 20th November 2021
15 Liam Williams (Scarlets)
14 Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby)
13 Nick Tompkins (Saracens)
12 Uilisi Halaholo (Cardiff Rugby)
11 Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby)
10 Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints)
9 Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby);
1 Wyn Jones (Scarlets)
2 Ryan Elias (Scarlets)
3 Tomas Francis (Ospreys)
4 Adam Beard (Ospreys)
5 Seb Davies (Cardiff Rugby)
6 Ellis Jenkins (Cardiff Rugby – captain)
7 Taine Basham (Dragons)
8 Aaron Wainwright (Dragons)


16 Elliot Dee (Dragons)
17 Gareth Thomas (Ospreys)
18 Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby)
19 Ben Carter (Dragons)
20 Christ Tshiunza (Exeter Chiefs)
21 Gareth Davies (Scarlets)
22 Rhys Priestland (Cardiff Rugby)
23 Johnny McNicholl (Scarlets)


Latest News