Reds and Waratahs name their sides for Super Rugby AU opener

Reds and Waratahs name their sides for Super Rugby AU opener

St.George Queensland Reds head coach Brad Thorn has named his team for Friday’s Vodafone Super Rugby AU season opener against New South Wales at Suncorp Stadium. In a reshuffled forward pack, captain Liam Wright will shift to blindside flanker with Fraser McReight at number seven in his first start for Queensland.

Harry Wilson has overcome a torn MCL and will pack down at number-eight in what shapes as a formidable backrow combination. 

Angus Blyth will partner Lukhan Salakaia-Loto in the secondrow, while Brandon Paenga-Amosa has recovered from an ankle injury and takes his spot in the frontrow alongside Harry Hoopert and Taniela Tupou.   

Tate McDermott and James O’Connor resume their pairing in the halves, as do Hamish Stewart and Hunter Paisami at inside and outside centre respectively. 

Bryce Hegarty has been named at fullback, as Jock Campbell shifts to the wing.

Reds Match Day Squad:

1. Harry Hoopert
2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa 
3. Taniela Tupou 
4. Angus Blyth 
5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto
6. Liam Wright © 
7. Fraser McReight
8. Harry Wilson
9. Tate McDermott
10. James O’Connor 
11. Filipo Daugunu
12. Hamish Stewart 
13. Hunter Paisami 
14. Jock Campbell
15. Bryce Hegarty 

16. Alex Mafi
17. JP Smith
18. Josh Nasser
19. Tuaina Taii Tualima*
20. Angus Scott-Young
21. Scott Malolua
22. Chris Feauai-Sautia
23. Josh Flook*

Waratahs Head Coach, Rob Penney has named a squad full of young talent to take on the Reds, headlined by Will Harris and Joey Walton - with both set to make their NSW debut.

They'll join the likes of fellow Junior Wallabies Angus Bell, Will Harrison and Mark Nawanqanitawase in the run-on side.

Tom Horton, Tiaan Tauakipulu and Ben Donaldson are also in line to make their professional debuts from the bench, they'll be alongside the experienced trio of  Tetera Faulkner, Tom Staniforth and Jack Dempsey who will provide Penney with plenty of options throughout the season-opener.

Ned Hanigan returns from injury to partner Rob Simmons in the second row, Jack Maddocks plays at fullback and Mitch Short will start in place of the injured Jake Gordon.

Alex Newsome will partner Joey Walton in midfield and has also been named vice-captain, his first official leadership role within the NSW Waratahs set up.

Waratahs Match Day Squad:

1. Angus Bell
2. Robbie Abel 
3. Harry Johnson-Holmes 
4. Ned Hanigan
5. Rob Simmons ©
6. Lachlan Swinton
7. Michael Hooper
8. Will Harris*
9. Mitch Short
10. Will Harrison 
11. Mark Nawaqanitawase
12. Joey Walton*
13. Alex Newsome
14. James Ramm
15. Jack Maddocks 

16. Tom Horton*
17. Tetera Faulkner
18. Tiaan Tauakipulu*
19. Tom Staniforth
20. Jack Dempsey
21. Michael McDonald
22. Ben Donaldson*
23. Tepai Moeroa

Latest News