Match Preview: Glasgow Warriors v DHL Stormers

Match Preview: Glasgow Warriors v DHL Stormers

This is a mouth-watering meeting between two sides that have led the way on the attacking front so far this season.

Glasgow have beaten the most defenders (59), with elusive fly-half Tom Jordan leaving seven in his wake against Connacht last week - the most by any player in Round 2.

Meanwhile, the table-topping Stormers - the only team with maximum points - have made the most metres of any side (1,018), while also scoring the joint most tries (12).

Glasgow welcome back Scotland trio Sione Tuipulotu, Matt Fagerson and Ollie Smith for their first appearances of the season, as they look to bounce back from their defeat in Galway.

The Stormers begin their four-match BKT URC tour of Europe with former London Irish wing Ben Loader moving into the centre, while Jean-Luc du Plessis is fit to start at fly-half.

Looking ahead to the Scotstoun showdown, their coach John Dobson said: “This will be an altogether different challenge to what we have faced already this season on an artificial pitch in the northern autumn. There are a few players coming in for their first appearance of the campaign and they are all keen to make an impact, so we are looking forward to the challenge.”

Glasgow Warriors v DHL Stormers

Scotstoun Stadium, Glasgow – KO 19.35 IRE & UK / 20.35  ITA / 21.35 SA

Referee: Chris Busby (IRFU, 32nd league game)

AR 1: David Sutherland (SRU) AR 2: Michael Todd (SRU)

TMO: Colin Stanley (IRFU)

Live on: Viaplay, SuperSport, Premier Sports, Flo Rugby &

Glasgow Warriors: Ollie Smith, Sebastian Cancelliere, Sione Tuipulotu, Stafford McDowall (CAPT), Kyle Rowe, Tom Jordan, George Horne; Oli Kebble, Johnny Matthews, Zander Fagerson, Greg Peterson, Richie Gray, Matt Fagerson, Rory Darge, Sione Vailanu

Replacements: Angus Fraser, Jamie Bhatti, Lucio Sordoni, Scott Cummings, Alex Samuel, Henco Venter, Jamie Dobie, Duncan Weir

DHL Stormers: Warrick Gelant, Angelo Davids, Ben Loader, Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu, Leolin Zas, Jean-Luc du Plessis, Herschel Jantjies, Ali Vermaak, Joseph Dweba, Neethling Fouche (CAPT), Ben-Jason Dixon, Ruben van Heerden, Willie Engelbrecht, Evan Roos, Keke Morabe

Replacements:  Andre-Hugo Venter, Lizo Gqoboka, Brok Harris, Adre Smith, Gary Porter, Marcel Theunissen, Stefan Ungerer, Clayton Blommetjies

Latest News