Jamie Ritchie to earn 50th cap for Scotland against the USA

Jamie Ritchie to earn 50th cap for Scotland against the USA

Jamie Ritchie will win a 50th Scotland cap in this Friday’s Skycanner Americas tour match against USA at Audi Field in Washington D.C.

The flanker is named as a vice-captain of a squad led by Rory Darge and Sione Tuipulotu, as Head Coach Gregor Townsend makes a raft of changes to the side victorious against Canada in Ottawa last weekend.

Ritchie, who debuted on the 2018 North America Tour, lines up at blindside with Darge on the openside flank and Matt Fagerson at number 8.

A fresh second-row partnership is formed as Alex Craig, who wins a first cap in three years, joins Scott Cummings in the engine room.

An all-new front row comprises Pierre Schoeman at loosehead prop, Ewan Ashman at hooker and Murphy Walker, who is named at tighthead.

In the back division, Tuipulotu resumes a familiar centre pairing with Huw Jones, outside of half-backs George Horne and Adam Hastings, the latter making a welcome return to international action having last represented Scotland against Fiji in 2022.

A potent back three sees winger Kyle Steyn – try-scorer against Canada – named as vice-captain, with Kyle Rowe stepping in at full-back. Duhan van der Merwe, who sits one shy of equalling the national men’s record for tries scored, lines up on the other wing.

The eight replacements all featured in last week’s tour opener, with debutants Robbie Smith and Max Williamson listed among five forward options. Rory Sutherland and Elliot Millar Mills, as well as Luke Crosbie, complete the pack provision.

Scotland’s 23 is completed by three players who all contributed points against Canada, with Jamie Dobie, Ross Thompson and Matt Currie listed as replacement backs.

Scotland team to face USA at Audi Field, Washington D.C., in the Skyscanner Americas tour on Friday 12 July, kick-off 11:30pm (BST) – live on TNT Sports 1 (caps in brackets):

15. Kyle Rowe – Glasgow Warriors (4)

14. Kyle Steyn – Vice-Captain – Glasgow Warriors (20)
13.Huw Jones – Glasgow Warriors (48)
12. Sione Tuipulotu – Co-Captain – Glasgow Warriors (25)
11. Duhan van der Merwe – Edinburgh Rugby (39)

10.Adam Hastings – Glasgow Warriors (27)
9. George Horne – Glasgow Warriors (30)

1. Pierre Schoeman – Edinburgh Rugby (31)
2. Ewan Ashman – Edinburgh Rugby (17)
3. Murphy Walker – Glasgow Warriors (3)
4. Alex Craig ­– Scarlets (2)
5. Scott Cummings – Glasgow Warriors (38)
6. Jamie Ritchie – Vice-Captain – Edinburgh Rugby (49)
7. Rory Darge – Co-Captain – Glasgow Warriors (19)
8. Matt Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors (45)


16. Robbie Smith – Northampton Saints (1)
17. Rory Sutherland – Glasgow Warriors (31)
18. Elliot Millar Mills – Northampton Saints (4)
19. Max Williamson – Glasgow Warriors (1)
20. Luke Crosbie – Edinburgh Rugby (9)
21. Jamie Dobie – Glasgow Warriors (3)
22. Ross Thompson – Edinburgh Rugby (4)
23. Matt Currie – Edinburgh Rugby (1)

Latest News