Team news: Harlequins squad to face Ulster

Team news: Harlequins squad to face Ulster

Harlequins have named Joe Marler in the starting squad for Saturday’s Investec Champions Cup match against Ulster Rugby at a sold-out Twickenham Stoop (KO 13:00).

The England international, who was named in Steve Borthwick’s Six Nations squad, has recovered from injury and takes his place at loosehead prop, alongside Jack Walker at hooker and Will Collier at tighthead.

Quins have made a further two changes to their Starting XV for Saturday’s crucial tie with Ulster.

In the pack, Irne Herbst starts alongside George Hammond at second-row, with Chandler Cunningham-South replacing the injured James Chisholm at blindside flanker. Will Evans maintains his spot at openside, with Alex Dombrandt captaining the squad from number eight.

The backline remains unchanged following the big win over Cardiff. Danny Care and Marcus Smith combine in the halves, with Andre Esterhuizen resuming his centre partnership with Oscar Beard. Cameron Anderson and Nick David start on the wings with Tyrone Green at fullback.

Amongst the Impact Players, there’s returns for hooker Sam Riley, back-row Archie White and centre Will Joseph. Fin Baxter, Dillon Lewis and Joe Launchbury provide cover in the pack, alongside replacement scrum-half Will Porter and centre Lennox Anyanwu.

Director of Rugby Billy Millard commented: "We’re pleased to have qualified from our pool. It’s been a tough set of matches for our boys and we’ve been impressed with the way they have responded. Saturday is another huge challenge for our squad against a good Ulster side. We know it will be a tough battle and we know we’ll need to be at our best."

Starting XV:

1. Joe Marler (275)

2. Jack Walker (53)

3. Will Collier (232)

4. Irne Herbst (36)

5. George Hammond (55)

6. Chandler Cunningham-South (10)

7. Will Evans (79)

8. Alex Dombrandt (129 - Captain)

9. Danny Care (367)

10. Marcus Smith (150)

11. Cameron Anderson (6)

12. Andre Esterhuizen (80)

13. Oscar Beard (45)

14. Nick David (46)

15. Tyrone Green (65)

Impact Players:

16. Sam Riley (43)

17. Fin Baxter (40)

18. Dillon Lewis (10)

19. Joe Launchbury (15)

20. Archie White (68)

21. Will Porter (15)

22. Lennox Anyanwu (20)

23. Will Joseph (10)

Not available for selection (injury): Luke Northmore, Jack Kenningham, Cadan Murley, Jarrod Evans, Cassius Cleaves, Dino Lamb, Stephan Lewies, James Chisholm

Latest News