Team news: Harlequins squad to face Newcastle

Team news: Harlequins squad to face Newcastle

Harlequins have named their matchday squad for Friday's Gallagher Premiership fixture against Newcastle Falcons at Kingston Park (KO 19:45).

The reshuffled squad features six changes to the Starting XV that lined up against Gloucester in Big Game 15.

In the engine room, Fin Baxter replaces the injured Joe Marler at loosehead, combining with hooker Jack Walker and tighthead Will Collier. Irne Herbst and George Hammond form a fresh second-row partnership, with James Chisholm at blindside flanker and Will Evans resuming at openside. Alex Dombrandt skippers the squad from number eight.

In the backs, Will Porter and Will Edwards start at scrum-half and fly-half. Andre Esterhuizen and Oscar Beard maintain their impressive Big Game partnership, with Cameron Anderson on the left wing and Nick David on the right. Tyrone Green continues at fullback for the six consecutive match.

Amongst the Impact Players, there’s returns for props Jordan Els and Lovejoy Chawatama, back-row Chandler Cunningham-South, scrum-half Max Green and wing Louis Lynagh. Sam Riley and Joe Launchbury provide experience at hooker and second-row, with Lennox Anyanwu adding versatility across the backline.

Director of Rugby Billy Millard commented: "We have a lot of respect for Newcastle. It's been a massive week preparing for the challenge on Friday night. It's always a unique and tough match at Kingston Park and we know we'll need to be at our best to get the result."

Starting XV:

1. Fin Baxter (38)

2. Jack Walker (51)

3. Will Collier (230)

4. Irne Herbst (34)

5. George Hammond (53)

6. James Chisholm (144)

7. Will Evans (77)

8. Alex Dombrandt (127 - Captain)

9. Will Porter (13)

10. Will Edwards (31)

11. Cameron Anderson (4)

12. Andre Esterhuizen (78)

13. Oscar Beard (43)

14. Nick David (44)

15. Tyrone Green (63)

Impact Players:

16. Sam Riley (42)

17. Jordan Els (32)

18. Lovejoy Chawatama (6)

19. Joe Launchbury (13)

20. Chandler Cunningham-South (8)

21. Max Green (4)

22. Lennox Anyanwu (18)

23. Louis Lynagh (54)

Not available for selection (injury): Luke Northmore, Jack Kenningham, Cadan Murley, Jarrod Evans, Tom Lawday, Will Joseph, Cassius Cleaves, Dino Lamb, Joe Marler, Stephan Lewies, Danny Care

Latest News