Larkham welcomes back Charlie Cale

Larkham welcomes back Charlie Cale

The Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies have announced their side to battle it out with the Highlanders in their Super Rugby Pacific Quarter Final match this Saturday, June 8 at GIO Stadium, kicking off at 7:35PM AEST.

Finishing the 2024 Super Rugby Pacific regular season with a 24-19 win over the Western Force in Perth last weekend, Head Coach Stephen Larkham has named a strong side for this Saturday's encounter.

No.8 Charlie Cale will make his return from injury, lining up in the back-row with Rob Valetini and Jahrome Brown. The latter also making his way back into the Brumbies' line-up for the Highlander's clash.

Harry Vella will start in the front-row, replacing the injured Blake Schoupp who succumbed to a shoulder injury in last week's fixture in Perth. Vella will combine with Billy Pollard and Captain Allan Alaalatoa to pack down in the scrum. They're joined by Darcy Swain and fellow lock forward Tom Hooper in the second-row.

Larkham has opted for an unchanged backline for his side's opening finals match, as Ryan Lonergan and Noah Lolesio fill out the 9 and 10 jerseys.

Wrecking balls Tamati Tua and Len Ikitau also retain their positions in the midfield. Tom Wright will once again lead the attack from the back, anchoring a formidable backline featuring Corey Toole and Andy Muirhead on the wings.

Sosefo Kautai, who is in line to make his 50th Super Rugby appearance has been named on the interchange bench. The prop forward, together hooker Liam Bowron and Rhys Van Nek will provide cover for the front-row.

The versatile Nick Frost and Luke Reimer will provide plenty of power off the bench, whilst Harrison Goddard, Jack Debreczeni and Ollie Sapsford will provide support for the backline.

2024 Super Rugby Pacific - Quarter Final
Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies v Highlanders
Saturday 8 June, 7:35PM AEST
GIO Stadium, Bruce

Starting XV

  1. Harry Vella
  2. Billy Pollard
  3. Allan Alaalatoa (C)
  4. Darcy Swain
  5. Tom Hooper
  6. Rob Valetini
  7. Jahrome Brown
  8. Charlie Cale
  9. Ryan Lonergan
  10. Noah Lolesio
  11. Corey Toole
  12. Tamati Tua
  13. Len Ikitau
  14. Andy Muirhead
  15. Tom Wright

16. Liam Bowron
17. Rhys van Nek
18. Sosefo Kautai
19. Nick Frost
20. Luke Reimer
21. Harrison Goddard
22. Jack Debreczeni
23. Ollie Sapsford

Head Coach
Stephen Larkham

Latest News