Brumbies named to face the Force

Brumbies named to face the Force

The Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies side has been announced for the club's first home match of the season, facing the Western Force this Saturday, March 9 at GIO Stadium, kicking off at 2:35PM AEDT.

The match as the first home match since his passing will also serve as an opportunity for the ACT Brumbies to celebrate and remember the life of the late Gary ‘Quinzo’ Quinlivan with a moment of silence being held in his honour pre-match.
Head Coach Stephen Larkham has made changes to his side to face the Perth-based franchise this weekend. The biggest inclusion to the line-up will see Darcy Swain make his return from injury. Swain took to the field last Sunday for the ACT Brumbies Runners side, which defeated the Australian U20s and Sydney University at the Australian Institute of Sport.
Changes have been made to the back row formation, after Charlie Cale succumbed to an injury suffered in an off-the-ball incident from last week's Super Round encounter with the Chiefs. Swain's inclusion at lock with Nick Frost means the versatile Tom Hooper shifts into the back row, alongside Luke Reimer and Rob Valetini who has been named at No.8.
Tamati Tua will start for the first time in 2024, pairing with Len Ikitau. The back three remain unchanged with Andy Muirhead, Corey Toole and Tom Wright anchoring the backline.
Ollie Sapsford reverts to the bench, whilst Klayton Thorn returns to the game day line-up after a strong showing for the ACT Brumbies Runners on the weekend.
Cadeyrn Neville retains his place in the side, despite leaving the field on Sunday afternoon against the Chiefs after falling victim of foul play. Neville has been named for this week's home opener against the Western Force after passing mandatory return-to-play HIA protocols.
Gates will open from midday, with the ACT Brumbies Runners featuring against Western Force A from 12:05PM.

Tickets to the first Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies home fixture of the 2024 Super Rugby Pacific Season at GIO Stadium is available for purchase via Ticketek.
2024 Super Rugby Pacific – Round 3
Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies v Western Force
Saturday 9 March, 2:35PM AEDT

Pre-Match Game
Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies Runners v Western Force A
Saturday 9 March, 12:05PM AEDT
GIO Stadium, Canberra
Starting XV

  1. James Slipper (Queanbeyan Whites)
  2. Lachlan Lonergan (Tuggeranong Vikings)
  3. Sosefo Kautai (Canberra Royals)
  4. Nick Frost (Queanbeyan Whites)
  5. Darcy Swain (Tuggeranong Vikings)
  6. Tom Hooper (Tuggeranong Vikings)
  7. Luke Reimer (Western Districts)
  8. Rob Valetini (Tuggeranong Vikings)
  9. Ryan Lonergan (C) (Tuggeranong Vikings)
  10. Noah Lolesio (Tuggeranong Vikings)
  11. Corey Toole (Gungahlin Eagles)
  12. Tamati Tua (Queanbeyan Whites)
  13. Len Ikitau (Tuggeranong Vikings)
  14. Andy Muirhead (VC) (Canberra Royals)
  15. Tom Wright (Western Districts) 

16. Billy Pollard (Uni-Norths Owls)
17. Blake Schoupp (Gungahlin Eagles)
18. Rhys Van Nek (Uni-Norths Owls)
19. Cadeyrn Neville (Uni-Norths Owls)
20. Jahrome Brown (Gungahlin Eagles)
21. Klayton Thorn (Gungahlin Eagles)
22. Declan Meredith (Western Districts)
23. Ollie Sapsford (Uni-Norths Owls)
Head Coach
Stephen Larkham

Latest News