TJ Perenara has suggested it was ‘clear and obvious’ that the Hurricanes should have been awarded a penalty in the dying moments of Saturday’s semi-final against the Crusaders.
The Hurricanes were chasing a late try to beat the Crusaders with the defending champions holding out for a 30-26 win.
Needing a try to win, Hurricanes worked their way into the 22 late in the game and edged closer to the line before Nic Berry ruled that Perenara had knocked the ball on with time almost up on the clock.
However, the replays show that Sam Whitelock dislodged the ball from Perenara's grasp from inside the ruck:
Hurricanes' captain TJ Perenara commented on the incident saying: ‘I guess it was pretty clear and obvious. We all probably know, we have seen it,’ Perenara said after the game.
‘We know it’s a penalty. The ref can’t see everything. He makes a call, and calls it a knock on.
‘Sometimes we expect a penalty, there, for a deliberate knock down; but it is what it is in a game of footy.’
Game in the balance.— Runningflyhalf (@Runningflyhalf) June 29, 2019
Impossible for the on-field ref to see everything.
TMO would have seen this on the replay.
Absolutely crazy that the TMO isn’t allowed or supposed to tell the on-field ref to correct the call. pic.twitter.com/Z0G7PGW49U