Team News | Munster Side To Face Zebre

Team News | Munster Side To Face Zebre

The Munster team has been named for Friday night’s BKT URC Round 11 clash against Zebre at Virgin Media Park (7.35pm).

Buy €20 match tickets here. See event info here.

Four Academy players are included as Tony Butler and Ruadhán Quinn both start with Ethan Coughlan and Ben O’Connor, who returns from the Ireland U20s, among the replacements.

Tom Ahern and Casey return from senior international duty to start with Jeremy Loughman who is also back from Ireland camp among the replacements.

22-year-old Alex Kendellen captains the team with four changes to the side that beat Scarlets earlier this month.

There is a new half-back pairing of Butler and Casey as Josh Wycherley and John Ryan come into the front row.

Academy out-half Butler, who will move up to the senior squad on a two-year contract next season, and back-row forward Quinn both make their third starts for the province.

Mike Haley makes his 99th start for Munster at full-back with Seán O’Brien and Shane Daly on either wing.

Alex Nankivell and Antoine Frisch continue their centre partnership with Casey and Butler at 9 and 10.

Wycherley, Niall Scannell and Ryan pack down in the front row with Ahern and RG Snyman in the engine room.

Quinn, Kendellen and Gavin Coombes complete the side.

Eoghan Clarke, Loughman and Stephen Archer provide the front row back-up with Fineen Wycherley and Jack O’Sullivan completing the forward cover.

Coughlan, Rory Scannell and O’Connor are the backline replacements.

Joey Carbery picked up a slight knock in training and was unavailable for selection.

Munster: Mike Haley (Preston Grasshoppers); Seán O’Brien (Mullingar RFC), Antoine Frisch (Paris Université Club), Alex Nankivell (Christchurch Boys High School), Shane Daly (Highfield RFC); Tony Butler (Ennis RFC), Craig Casey (Shannon RFC); Josh Wycherley (Bantry Bay RFC), Niall Scannell (PBC Cork), John Ryan (Muskerry RFC); Tom Ahern (Youghal RFC), RG Snyman (Afrikaanse Hoër Seunskool); Ruadhán Quinn (Ballina-Killaloe RFC), Alex Kendellen (C) (PBC Cork), Gavin Coombes (Skibbereen RFC).

Replacements: Eoghan Clarke (CBC Monkstown), Jeremy Loughman (Athy RFC), Stephen Archer (Cork Constitution FC), Fineen Wycherley (Bantry Bay RFC), Jack O’Sullivan (Sunday’s Well RFC), Ethan Coughlan (Ennis RFC), Rory Scannell (PBC Cork), Ben O’Connor (Highfield RFC).

Latest News