Team Announcement: Melbourne Rebels Vs Hurricanes

Team Announcement: Melbourne Rebels Vs Hurricanes

In what promises to be one of the biggest ever weekends of rugby in Melbourne, Victorian lock Trevor Hosea has been named to make his starting debut for Friday night’s Super Round blockbuster against a red-hot Hurricanes side.  

Hosea will pair with the emerging Josh Canham, forming an all-Victorian second row, as the Rebels look to respond from last weekend’s second-half fadeout against the Western Force in Perth.  

Hosea’s promotion is one of three adjustments to last weekend's Starting XV, with Tuaina Taii Tualima shifting to blindside flanker, while Joe Pincus looks set to make his Super Rugby debut, named at fullback.  

Pincus has hit the ground running in his second season in Melbourne, after an impressive pre-season saw the twenty-six-year-old star in a number of the Club’s trials, including this month’s clash against the Brumbies in Wagga Wagga, where Pincus ran through a pair of tries.  

The 2020 Olympian is one of two debutants for the Rebels 2023 home opener, joined by Angelo Smith.

Meanwhile, fan favorite Cameron Orr returns for his first match of 2023, adding extra depth to an already imposing Rebels pack of Matt Gibbon, Alex Mafi, Sam Talakai, Pone Fa’amausili and Jordan Uelese.  

Orr will be joined by Josh Kemeny, James Tuttle, Lukas Ripley and Nick Jooste to complete the Match Day 23, as the Rebels chase their opening win of the 2023 Harvey Norman Super Rugby Pacific season.  

Melbourne Rebels Match Day 23 for Friday night's clash against the Hurricanes. 

1. Matt Gibbon

2. Alex Mafi

3. Sam Talakai

4. Josh Canham

5. Trevor Hosea

6. Tuiana Taii Tualima

7. Brad Wilkin (C)

8. Richard Hardwick

9. Ryan Louwrens

10. Carter Gordon 

11. Monty Ioane 

12. Stacey Ili

13. Reece Hodge (VC)

14. Lachie Anderson

15. Joe Pincus

16. Jordan Uelese

17. Cameron Orr

18. Pone Fa’amausili

19. Angelo Smith

20. Josh Kemeny

21. James Tuttle

22. Lukas Ripley

23. Nick Jooste


The Hurricanes have named their side to take on the Melbourne Rebels at Super Round Melbourne this Friday at 10:10pm NZT.  

Super Round Melbourne will feature all 12 Super Rugby Pacific teams competing in a 3-day, 6-match trans-Tasman rivalry.  

The team sees just three changes to the run-on team that beat the Reds in a last weekend's 13-47 victory in Townsville.  

In the front row, All Black Tyrel Lomax comes in at tighthead, lining up with last week’s starters, Xavier Numia and Dane Coles. 

In the loose forwards, Manawatū Turbos captain, Brayden Iose, comes in at blindside, replacing the injured Devan Flanders. Joining him is Wellington captain, Du’Plessis Kirifi at openside, with talented teen Peter Lakai providing impact from the bench. 

Riley Higgins, the only new addition to this week’s 23, will look to make his first run of the season off the bench.   

Hurricanes team to take on the Rebels: 
1 Xavier Numia  
2 Dane Coles 
3 Tyrel Lomax 
4 James Blackwell 
5 Isaia Walker-Leawere 
6 Brayden Iose 
7 Du’Plessis Kirifi 
8 Ardie Savea © 
9 Cameron Roigard 
10 Aidan Morgan 
11 Salesi Rayasi 
12 Jordie Barrett 
13 Billy Proctor 
14 Julian Savea 
15 Josh Moorby 

16 Asafo Aumua 
17 Tevita Mafileo 
18 Owen Franks 
19 Caleb Delany 
20 Peter Lakai 
21 Jamie Booth 
22 Riley Higgins 
23 Harry Godfrey 

Unavailable for selection: Ruben Love, Bailyn Sullivan, Daniel Sinkinson, Tyler Laubscher, Reed Prinsep, Peter Umaga-Jensen, Dan Sinkinson, Justin Sangster, Brett Cameron, TJ Perenara, Jacob Devery, Devan Flanders.

Latest News