Sharks name nine internationals to start against Ulster

Sharks name nine internationals to start against Ulster

Springbok tighthead prop Thomas du Toit will lead a very experienced Sharks side that hosts Ulster at Kings Park stadium on Saturday.

Nine internationals, eight Springboks and one Wallaby, have been named in the starting XV with a further two Boks on the bench.

Du Toit is joined in the starting XV by Ox Nche and Bongi Mbonambi, who made their return to the Sharks via the bench last week. In turn, Ntuthuko Mchunu and Kerron van Vuuren drop to the bench.

Eben Etzebeth earns back-to-back starts for his new side in an unchanged second row with Hyron Andrews.

There is a change in the back row with Springbok captain Siya Kolisi replacing Dylan Richardson in the starting lineup. James Venter takes Kolisi's place on the bench.

The sole change in the backline sees Makazole Mapimpi replace Anthony Volmink in the no.11 jersey. Jaden Hendrikse and Boeta Chamberlain are starting halfbacks with Wallaby Ben Tapuai in the centres alongside Marnus Potgieter. Finally, Springbok fullback Aphelele Fassi completes the starting lineup.

The Sharks bench is: Kerron van Vuuren, Ntuthuko Mchunu, Carlu Sadie, Reniel Hugo, James Venter, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Cameron Wright, and Anthony Volmink.


  1. Ox Nche
  2. Bongi Mbonambi
  3. Thomas du Toit (c)
  4. Eben Etzebeth
  5. Hyron Andrews
  6. Siya Kolisi
  7. Vincent Tshituka
  8. Phepsi Buthelezi
  9. Jaden Hendrikse
  10. Boeta Chamberlain
  11. Makazole Mapimpi
  12. Ben Tapuai
  13. Marnus Potgieter
  14. Werner Kok
  15. Aphelele Fassi


  1. Kerron van Vuuren
  2. Ntuthuko Mchunu
  3. Carlu Sadie
  4. Reniel Hugo
  5. James Venter
  6. Sikhumbuzo Notshe
  7. Cameron Wright
  8. Anthony Volmink

Latest News