Scotland squad named for 2024 Guinness Mens Six Nations opener in Cardiff

Scotland squad named for 2024 Guinness Mens Six Nations opener in Cardiff

Head coach Gregor Townsend has named his squad to face Wales at the Principality Stadium in Cardiff for the opening round of this year’s Guinness Men’s Six Nations.

Scotland captain Finn Russell leads the side from stand-off, partnered by Ben White at scrum-half.

The familiar pairing of Sione Tuipulotu (named as a vice-captain) and Huw Jones resume a centre partnership which featured in each of last year’s championship fixtures.

Wingers Duhan van der Merwe and Kyle Steyn are selected as part of a back three completed by full-back Kyle Rowe, who is set to win a first international cap since his debut on the 2022 tour to Argentina.

In the pack, Pierre Schoeman starts at loosehead prop with Zander Fagerson at tighthead. George Turner completes a settled front row at hooker.

Richie Gray, competing in an 11th Six Nations championship having made his debut in 2010, packs down in the second row with Scott Cummings.

Scotland’s back row is anchored by number 8 Matt Fagerson, with Luke Crosbie named at blindside flanker and Jamie Ritchie, also a vice-captain, selected at openside.

There are two potential propping debutants among the replacements, with Alec Hepburn (loosehead) and Elliot Millar-Mills (tighthead) primed for a first taste of Scotland duty. Hooker Ewan Ashman and the versatile pair Sam Skinner and Jack Dempsey represent the remaining forward options.

The 23-player selection is completed with the inclusion of scrum-half George Horne, stand-off Ben Healy and centre Cam Redpath.

Injury update: Blair Kinghorn has been ruled out with a knee injury for the first two matches of the championship.

Rory Darge’s recovery is progressing well and he is due to be available for selection next week.

Scotland team to face Wales at the Principality Stadium, Cardiff, in the Guinness Six Nations on Saturday 3 February, kick-off 4.45pm – live on BBC (caps in brackets)

15. Kyle Rowe – Glasgow Warriors (1)
14. Kyle Steyn – Glasgow Warriors (15)
13. Huw Jones – Glasgow Warriors (43)
12. Sione Tuipulotu – Vice-Captain – Glasgow Warriors (22)
11. Duhan van der Merwe – Edinburgh Rugby (34)

10. Finn Russell – Captain – Bath Rugby (75)
9. Ben White – Toulon (18)

1. Pierre Schoeman – Edinburgh Rugby (26)
2. George Turner – Glasgow Warriors (40)
3. Zander Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors (62)
4. Richie Gray – Glasgow Warriors (78)
5. Scott Cummings – Glasgow Warriors (33)
6. Luke Crosbie – Edinburgh Rugby (7)
7. Jamie Ritchie – Vice-Captain – Edinburgh Rugby (46)
8. Matt Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors (40)


16. Ewan Ashman – Edinburgh Rugby (12)
17. Alec Hepburn – Exeter Chiefs (uncapped)
18. Elliot Millar-Mills – Northampton Saints (uncapped)
19. Sam Skinner – Edinburgh Rugby (30)
20. Jack Dempsey – Glasgow Warriors (15)
21. George Horne – Glasgow Warriors (26)
22. Ben Healy – Edinburgh Rugby (4)
23. Cameron Redpath – Bath Rugby (9)

Latest News