England men's World Rugby U20 Championship team announcement: England v Fiji

England men's World Rugby U20 Championship team announcement: England v Fiji

England men’s U20 head coach Mark Mapletoft has named his team to face Fiji in their second match of the World Rugby U20 Championship, after the side played out a 34-all draw against Ireland U20 to open their tournament in South Africa.  

Finn Carnduff from Leicester Tigers has been named captain for the match, which kicks off at 18:00 BST (19:00 local time) on Thursday, 29 June at Danie Craven Stadium, Stellenbosch.  

In the front row, James Halliwell gets his first start after debuting on Saturday, promoted to the starting 23 alongside other prop Archie McArthur and hooker Nathan Jibulu.  

Behind them, Harlequins’ Harry Browne joins the captain, Carnduff, in the second row. 

Nathan Michelow will start at blind-side flanker, with Tristan Woodman packing down on the opposite side of the scrum, while Zach Carr earns his first England U20 cap at no. 8.  

Nye Thomas is the England scrum-half, playing inside Connor Slevin who again starts at fly-half after a flawless display off the kicking tee in his debut against Ireland. 

Toby Thame (inside centre) and Alex Wills (left wing) are also in line to make their England U20 debuts. 

Lining up outside them are Joe Jenkins, Jacob Cusick and Louie Johnson who will wear the 13, 14 and 15 shirts respectively.  

Craig Wright, Ethan Clarke, Afolabi Fasogbon, Lewis Chessum, Greg Fisilau, Charlie Bracken, Cassius Cleaves and Tobias Elliott are the replacements.  

Mapletoft said: “We were really pleased with the things the team did well in our game against Ireland on Saturday, particularly with how we built upon our performances from the Six Nations. 

“We’ve taken learnings on board from the match and have now shifted our attention to Fiji, who gave the Australians a real crack in their tournament opener. With only a five-day turnaround between fixtures, our players have prioritised their recovery well. We’ve named a number of debutants for Thursday’s match, so congratulations to those five lads and all others selected.”  

England U20 team v Fiji U20

1. Archie McArthur (Gloucester)
2. Nathan Jibulu (Harlequins)
3. James Halliwell (Bristol Bears)
4. Finn Carnduff (Leicester Tigers)
5. Harry Browne (Harlequins) 
6. Nathan Michelow (Saracens)
7. Tristan Woodman (Sale Sharks)
8. Zach Carr* (Harlequins) 
9. Nye Thomas (Sale Sharks)
10. Connor Slevin (Harlequins)
11. Alex Wills* (Sale Sharks) 
12. Toby Thame* (Northampton Saints)
13. Joe Jenkins (Bristol Bears)
14. Jacob Cusick (Leicester Tigers)
15. Louie Johnson (Newcastle Falcons) 


16. Craig Wright* (Northampton Saints)
17. Ethan Clarke* (Harlequins) 
18. Afolabi Fasogbon 
19. Lewis Chessum (Leicester Tigers)
20. Greg Fisilau (Exeter Chiefs)
21. Charlie Bracken (Saracens)
22. Cassius Cleaves (Harlequins) 
23. Tobias Elliott (Saracens)

*Denotes England U20 debut 

Latest News