Vern Cotter names Flying Fijians squad for Scotland with three debutants

Vern Cotter names Flying Fijians squad for Scotland with three debutants

Flying Fijians Head Coach Vern Cotter has named three debutants in the 23-member team which kicks off their Autumn Nations Cup campaign against Scotland on Sunday.

Ratu Leone Rotuisolia, who missed the opportunity while in camp during the mid-year internationals, has finally made his cut into the run-on team.

Former Fijian 7s and Olympic Games Gold Medalist, Sireli Maqala and Livai Natave are expected to earn their first cap off the bench.

Saracens-based in-form Loosehead Prop Eroni Mawi, experienced Hooker Sam Matavesi and Tighthead prop Manasa Saulo complete the front row while Temo Mayanavanua pairs up with Ratu Leone Rotuisolia at locks.

Albert Tuisue will be at the blindside flank while in an interesting move, Levani Botia will strengthen the forward pack from the openside flanks position. Viliame Mata returns from injury and starts at number eight.

In the backs, Frank Lomani and Vilimoni Botitu will share the halves combination while Kalaveti Ravouvou and skipper Waisea Nayacalevu will control the play in the midfield. Vinaya Habosi is on the left wing and Setareki Tuicuvu is on right. Veteran fullback Kini Murimurivalu will control the play from number 15.

Tevita Ikanivere, Hareiti Hetet and Luke Tagi will provide firepower in the second half while Apisalome Ratuniyarawa and Kitione Kamikamica will come as replacements in the forwards. Teti Tela has made it into the squad after arriving at camp on Wednesday night and is on the bench with Peni Matawalu and Sireli Maqala.

Flying Fijians Team V Scotland

  1. Eroni Mawi
  2. Sam Matavesi
  3. Manasa Saulo
  4. Temo Mayanavanua
  5. Ratu Leone Rotuisolia *
  6. Albert Tuisue
  7. Levani Botia
  8. Viliame Mata
  9. Frank Lomani
  10. Vilimoni Botitu
  11. Vinaya Habosi
  12. Kalaveti Ravouvou
  13. Waisea Nayacalevu {c}
  14. Setareki Tuicuvu
  15. Kini Murimurivalu


  1. Tevita Ikanivere
  2. Livai Natave *
  3. Luke Tagi
  4. Apisalome Ratuniyarawa
  5. Kitione Kamikamica
  6. Peni Matawalu
  7. Teti Tela
  8. Sireli Maqala *

* Players to debut.

Latest News