URC Quarter-Final Lineups: Stormers are without Willemse, Graham makes his 50th appearance

URC Quarter-Final Lineups: Stormers are without Willemse, Graham makes his 50th appearance

The teams for the United Rugby Championship quarter-final between the Stormers and Edinburgh have been named.

  • Two changes to Stormers starting XV as Herschel Jantjies and Rikus Pretorius come in
  • Edinburgh Rugby make one change as Henry Pyrgos replaces the injured Ben Vellacott at scrum-half


Herschel Jantjies and centre Rikus Pretorius will make their return in the Stormers’ matchday 23.


The inclusion of Jantjies and Pretorius are the only changes from the team that started the win against Scarlets in Llanelli which saw them clinch the South African Shield in the final game of the regular season.


Jantjies starts at scrumhalf, while Pretorius is at inside centre in place of Damian Willemse, who has been ruled out due to an arm injury.


The only other changes to the matchday squad see lock Adre Smith and debutant utility back Sacha Mngomezulu included among the replacements.


Stormers head coach Dobson said that while Willemse had been given as much time as possible to prove his fitness, it was decided not to risk him with Pretorius ready to step in.



Scotland international winger Darcy Graham will make his 50th appearance for Edinburgh Rugby as one change is named to the capital side’s starting XV to face Stormers.


Henry Pyrgos starts at scrum-half in place of the injured Ben Vellacott in the only alteration to the side that claimed a 28-11 derby win against Glasgow Warriors a fortnight ago.


An unchanged back-three sees Argentine international Emiliano Boffelli – this week named in the Pumas squad for the upcoming Summer Series against Scotland – continue at full-back alongside capped wingers Graham and Damien Hoyland.


Centres Chris Dean and Mark Bennett once again link-up in midfield as stand-off Blair Kinghorn – a try-scorer against Warriors two weeks ago – and Pyrgos combine at half-back.


Hooker Dave Cherry packs down alongside Scotland props WP Nel and Pierre Schoeman as an unaltered lock pairing of Grant Gilchrist and Jamie Hodgson complete the tight-five.


An all-Scotland back-row sees number 8 Magnus Bradbury once again selected alongside flankers Luke Crosbie (blindside) and Hamish Watson (openside).



Stormers Head Coach John Dobson said“A lot of hard work has gone into securing this home quarterfinal, so we are determined to rise to the occasion. It has been a good week of preparation and everyone is excited about what should be a memorable day. We want to raise the intensity and make sure that we are at our best for the full 80 minutes, playing the kind of rugby that has got us into this position."



Edinburgh Rugby Head Coach Mike Blair said: “As a squad, we really benefited from our two-week tour of South Africa back in April, and its once again galvanised the guys – there’s a great feeling of togetherness with this group. They love playing for each other and representing this club. We’ve approached tomorrow night’s match in the same way we have all season. It's really important for us to stay relaxed and trust what we are trying to do. Stormers are a strong side and we know it’s going to be a huge test away from home, but we have belief and confidence in the way we want to play.”


Stormers: Warrick Gelant, Seabelo Senatla, Ruhan Nel, Rikus Pretorius, Leolin Zas, Manie Libbok, Herschel Jantjies, Steven Kitshoff (CAPT), JJ Kotze, Frans Malherbe, Salmaan Moerat, Marvin Orie, Deon Fourie, Hacjivah Dayimani, Evan Roos

Replacements: Andre-Hugo Venter, Brok Harris, Neethling Fouche, Adre Smith, Ernst van Rhyn, Nama Xaba, Godlen Masimla, Sacha Mngomezulu


Edinburgh Rugby: Emiliano Boffelli, Darcy Graham, Mark Bennett, Chris Dean, Damien Hoyland, Blair Kinghorn, Henry Pyrgos, Pierre Schoeman, Dave Cherry, WP Nel, Jamie Hodgson, Grant Gilchrist (CAPT), Luke Crosbie, Hamish Watson, Magnus Bradbury

Replacements: Adam McBurney, Harrison Courtney, Lee-Roy Atalifo, Marshall Sykes, Ben Muncaster, Charlie Shiel, Jaco van der Walt, James Lang


Stormers v Edinburgh Rugby

DHL Stadium, Cape Town – KO 18.00 IRE & UK / 19.00 ITA & SA

Referee: Frank Murphy (IRFU, 63rd league game)

AR 1: Chris Busby (IRFU) AR 2: Adam Jones (WRU)

TMO: Ben Whitehouse (WRU)

Live on: SuperSport, Premier Sports, TG4 & URC TV

Latest News