Three changes to Saints’ side to face the Bulls

Three changes to Saints’ side to face the Bulls

Phil Dowson makes three changes to his Northampton Saints side as they head into the Investec Champions Cup quarter-finals on Saturday (13 April, kick-off: 8pm), when the Vodacom Bulls visit cinch Stadium at Franklin’s Gardens.


The men in Black, Green and Gold secured their place in the competition’s last eight with a dramatic 24-14 win over Munster Rugby last weekend, with two late George Hendy scores sealing the win for Saints in front of a raucous Gardens crowd.

Northampton feature in their first quarter-final in the competition since 2020, when Saints travelled to Exeter Chiefs behind closed doors, and face off with the Bulls for the first time in the two sides’ histories.

Juarno Augustus, Alex Mitchell and Hendy mark the changes to Saints’ side, with all three coming into starting line-up after beginning last week’s match on the bench.

Last weekend’s match-winner Hendy starts alongside wing Ollie Sleightholme and fullback James Ramm in Northampton’s back three, while Tommy Freeman shifts into Saints’ centres to partner Fraser Dingwall.

Northampton name an unchanged tight five; Emmanuel Iyogun, Curtis Langdon and Trevor Davison retain their places in Saints’ front row, with Alex Moon and Alex Coles partnering in the engine room behind them.

Courtney Lawes captains Saints from the back row, and is joined by Sam Graham and incoming No.8 Augustus to complete the starting XV.

There’s a welcome return among Saints’ replacements as George Furbank makes his comeback from injury, with the likes of Sam Matavesi, Alex Waller, Lewis Ludlam and Tom James also named on Saints’ bench.


Investec Champions Cup, Quarter-Final

Saturday 13 April, 2024

cinch Stadium at Franklin’s Gardens

Kick-off: 8pm

15 James Ramm

14 George Hendy

13 Tommy Freeman

12 Fraser Dingwall

11 Ollie Sleightholme

10 Fin Smith

9 Alex Mitchell

1 Emmanuel Iyogun

2 Curtis Langdon

3 Trevor Davison

4 Alex Moon

5 Alex Coles

6 Courtney Lawes (c)

7 Sam Graham

8 Juarno Augustus


16 Sam Matavesi

17 Alex Waller

18 Paul Hill

19 Temo Mayanavanua

20 Angus Scott-Young

21 Lewis Ludlam

22 Tom James

23 George Furbank

Not available for selection:

Callum Braley, Burger Odendaal and Tom Pearson.

Referee: Mathieu Raynal (Fra)

Assistant referees: Luc Ramos and Ludovic Cayre (both Fra)

TMO: Thomas Charabas (Fra)

Latest News