Shocking omissions from SA & NZ 2017 Awards

Shocking omissions from SA & NZ 2017 Awards

The international and domestic seasons have come to an end in the Southern Hempshire. Therefore it is that time of year where the nominees are announced by the national Unions for their end of year awards.

This season has served up some shocking exclusions in both South Africa and New Zealand. 

Steve Hansen - New Zealand Coach of the Year

 Image result for Steve Hansen

Hansen has statistically had his worst season in charge of the All Blacks as his side suffered two defeats and one draw in 2017.

That highlights the quality expected of the All Blacks, Hanson still led his side to another Rugby Championship and a full house of victories in Europe. 

Missing out on the nomination won't bother the AB's head coach but his omission still stands out.

New Zealand Coach of the Year nominees: Glenn Moore, Craig Philpott & Scott Robertson

Beauden Barrett - New Zealand Men's Player of the Year & Super Rugby Player of the Year

 Image result for Beauden Barrett

There was also no place for Beauden Barrett among the player of the year contenders, despite him taking home the men's player of the year award at World Rugby's awards.

The star playmaker also missed out on the Super Rugby Player of Year nominee despite a starring for Hurricanes as they made the semi-finals of the competition.


Damian McKenzie - Super Rugby Player of the Year

McKenzie had an outstanding season for the Chiefs earning himself an extended run in the black jersey during the Rugby Championship and November Tests.

McKenzie topped the overall stats in defenders beaten, carries, metres gained and finished 4th on the list for completed offloads.

The Chiefs fullback was even named as the Super Rugby Player of the Year making his ommission even more shocking.

New Zealand Super Rugby Player of the Year nominees: Richie Mo'unga, Sam Whitelock & Ngani Laumape

The All Blacks - New Zealand Team of the Year

The All Blacks may have won the Rugby Championship in a canter, but their big challenge for 2017 was the series against the British and Irish Lions in June and July, which ended in a draw.

Steve Hansen's side won the first test at Eden Park in Auckland 30-15, went down to Westpac Stadium in Wellington and lost 24-21, after Sonny Bill Williams was shown a first-half red card, then returned to Eden Park and could only draw 15-15 in the decider.

They also dropped a test to the Wallabies - albeit in a dead rubber - but did finish with three test wins on their end-of-year tour of Europe.

New Zealand Team of the Year Nominees: Black Ferns, Crusaders and New Zealand U20s

Pieter-Steph du Toit - SA Rugby Player of the Year

du Toit had a standout season with Springboks and played a huge role in the Springboks turn around performance against the All Blacks in Cape Town.

He also started the season as an impact player and was soon an out and out starter.

SA Rugby Player of the Year nominees: Eben Etzebeth, Siya Kolisi, Jaco Kriel, Malcolm Marx & Jan Serfontein

Steven Kitshoff - SA Rugby Player of the Year

Kitshoff returned to South Africa after a stint in France and the red-headed front rower made his presence known off the bench against France.

Kitshoff dominated almost every single opposition at scrum time and was exceptional in all of the Springboks 2017 tests.

He applied pressure on the Beast and finally earned a first test start against New Zealand

Sibusiso Nkosi - Currie Cup Player of the Year

The 21-year-old winger was one the tournament's top scorers before injury curtailed his chances of playing the playoff stages of the competition.

Nkosi's form in the competition earned him a Springbok call-up. 

Lukhanyo Am - Currie Cup Player & Super Rugby Player of the Year

The Sharks centre cemented his position in the Sharks starting XV during the Super Rugby season and earned a Springbok call-up in June. 

Injury prevented him from making his Test debut but he continued to perform during the Currie Cup and earned a spot in the Springboks end of year tour squad and made his debut against Wales.

Super Rugby Player of the Tournament nominees: Jaco Kriel, Malcolm Marx & Franco Mostert

More News

Latest News