Sharks ready for EPCR Challenge Cup

Sharks ready for EPCR Challenge Cup

The Hollywoodbets Sharks have been bolstered by the return of some of their players back from injury as they venture into their first foray of EPCR Challenge Cup action this weekend, hosting Section Paloise at Hollywoodbets Kings Park on Saturday afternoon.

In changes from last week’s side, Ox Nche starts, swapping jerseys with Ntuthuko Mchunu who has carried a heavy workload over the past two months while Kerron van Vuuren returns at hooker.        

The Hollywoodbets Sharks’ second row stocks are up with the return of Le Roux Roets to the team after long-term injury, where the big imposing player will add value off the bench.

The loose forward trio of James Venter, Phepsi Buthelezi and Sikhumbuzo Notshe remains in place, while the Springbok scrumhalf duo of Grant Williams and Jaden Hendrikse swap jerseys.  In the final change, Marnus Potgieter returns to action in place of Aphiwe Dyantyi on the wing.    

Three pools of six teams make up the 18 team tournament that culminates in the final on Friday 24 May, taking place at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium in London.

Pool A comprises the Hollywoodbets Sharks and Toyota Cheetahs from South Africa, Section Paloise.

And Oyonnax (France), Dragons RFC (Wales) and Zebre Parma (Italy) taking on one another during December and January, before the knock-outs starts in April and the tournament climax scheduled for the next month.

The Hollywoodbets Sharks opponents’, Section Paloise, also known as Section or Pau, are a professional rugby club based in Pau, France, based in the Pyrenees-Atlantiques (an old royal city).

Hollywoodbets Sharks
1. Ox Nche
2. Kerron van Vuuren
3. Coenie Oosthuizen
4. Eben Etzebeth
5. Corne Rahl
6. James Venter
7. Phepsi Buthelezi
8. Sikhumbuzo Notshe
9. Grant Williams
10. Curwin Bosch
11. Makazole Mapimpi
12. Francois Venter 
13. Lukhanyo Am (c)
14. Marnus Potgieter
15. Aphelele Fassi

16. Daniel Jooste
17. Ntuthuko Mchunu
18. Hanro Jacobs
19. Le Roux Roets
20. Jeandre (Lappies) Labuschagne
21. Jaden Hendrikse
22. Lionel Cronje
23. Ethan Hooker 

Players not available for selection due to injury or suspension:
•    Bongi Mbonambi 
•    Cameron Wright
•    Dylan Richardson (Thumb surgery)
•    George Cronje (suspension)
•    Gerbrandt Grobler
•    Hyron Andrews (suspension)
•    Ignatius Prinsloo
•    Nevaldo Fleurs 
•    Reniel Hugo 
•    Rohan Janse van Rensburg
•    Vincent Koch 
•    Vincent Tshituka 
•    Werner Kok

Latest News