Scotland Team: Hogg returns and Russell starts against Wales

Scotland Team: Hogg returns and Russell starts against Wales

Stuart Hogg will return to captain Scotland from fullback for the final round of the 2020 Six Nations against Wales on Saturday 31 October - kick-off 2:15pm.

Fresh from securing the European and Premiership double with his club Exeter Chiefs, Hogg starts in one of five changes to the starting XV from the side that defeated Georgia 48-7 last week. Adam Hastings drops to the bench as Finn Russell lines up at fly-half after winning his 50th Scotland cap in the Georgia victory at Murrayfield and is joined in the half-backs by Glasgow Warriors’ Ali Price.

There is a change in the back three with Blair Kinghorn shifting to the wing from full-back and replaces Edinburgh teammate Duhan van de Merwe, who is named among the replacements. James Lang and Chris Harris continue their centre partnership after playing together against Georgia.

Scotland are further boosted by another European and Premiership double winner with Jonny Gray slotting into the pack to start alongside Scott Cummings while Scarlets’ Blade Thomson is selected at number 8 and will run out on his club ground on Saturday in Llanelli.

Vice-Captain Fraser Brown is selected at hooker with Rory Sutherland and Zander Fagerson either side of him. Edinburgh pair Jamie Ritchie, also a Vice-Captain, and Hamish Watson make up the back-row with Thomson. In the replacements Harlequins scrum-half Scott Steele could make his Scotland debut if called into action. Adam Hastings and van de Merwe complete the backline replacements.

Townsend can also call upon the same front row of Oli Kebble, Stuart McInally and Simon Berghan as featured in against Georgia, alongside Worcester Warrior Cornell du Preez and Edinburgh’s Ben Toolis from the bench.


Scotland team to play Wales at Parc Y Scarlets

Saturday 31 October (kick-off 2:15pm) – live on BBC

15. Stuart Hogg CAPTAIN (Exeter Chiefs) – 76 caps
14. Darcy Graham (Edinburgh) – 12 caps
13. Chris Harris (Gloucester) - 19 caps
12. James Lang (Harlequins) – 3 caps
11. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh) – 22 caps
10. Finn Russell (Racing 92) – 50 caps
9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 33 caps

1. Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh) – 8 caps
2. Fraser Brown VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors) – 51 caps
3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 30 caps
4. Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) – 13 caps
5. Jonny Gray (Exeter Chiefs) – 57 caps
6. Jamie Ritchie VICE CAPTAIN (Edinburgh) – 19 caps
7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh) – 33 caps
8. Blade Thomson (Scarlets) – 5 caps


16. Stuart McInally (Edinburgh) – 38 caps
17. Oli Kebble (Glasgow Warriors) – 1 cap
18. Simon Berghan (Edinburgh) – 26 caps
19. Ben Toolis (Edinburgh) – 26 caps
20. Cornell du Preez (Worcester Warriors) – 8 caps
21. Scott Steele (Harlequins) - Uncapped
22. Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors) – 21 caps
23. Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh) – 1 cap


More News

Latest News