Ireland Women Squad Update Ahead of England Clash

Ireland Women Squad Update Ahead of England Clash

The extended Ireland Women’s Squad assembled at the IRFU High Performance Centre on Saturday for a one-day camp ahead of this weekend’s Women’s Six Nations clash against England in Leicester. 

A group of 33 players trained in Dublin in preparation for Sunday’s Round 4 game at Mattioli Woods Welford Road, with Head Coach Greg McWilliams adding seven players to his panel for the remainder of the 2022 Championship.

Laura FeelyLaura SheehanMary HealyShannon TouhySene Naoupu and the uncapped Leinster pair of Niamh Byrne and Alice O’Dowd have been called up, with the final two Rounds of the Six Nations providing McWilliams and his coaching staff with the opportunity to further expose players to Test rugby and build squad depth.

Sam Monaghan and Aoife Wafer are both unavailable for selection this week through injury, while following a selection meeting between McWilliams and Sevens Head Coach Aiden McNulty last week, Stacey FloodLucy MulhallAnna McGannEve HigginsBrittany HoganAmee-Leigh Murphy Crowe and Beibhinn Parsons have re-integrated back into the Ireland Sevens programme ahead of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series return in Langford from 30th April – 1st May.

McWilliams will name his Ireland Match Day 23 to face England on Friday lunchtime.

Ireland Women’s Squad

Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)
Alice O’Dowd (UCD/Leinster)
Aoibheann Reilly (Blackrock College RFC/Connacht)
Aoife McDermott (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)
Aoife Doyle (Railway Union RFC/Munster)
Chloe Pearse (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
Christy Haney (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)
Dorothy Wall (Blackrock College RFC/Munster)
Edel McMahon (Wasps/IQ Rugby)
Eimear Considine (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
Emma Hooban (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)
Enya Breen (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
Grace Moore (Railway Union RFC/IQ Rugby)
Hannah O’Connor (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)
Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere RFC/Ulster)
Katie O’Dwyer (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)
Laura Feely (Blackrock College RFC/Connacht)
Laura Sheehan (Exeter Chiefs/IQ Rugby)
Linda Djougang (ASM Romagnat Rugby/Leinster)
Maeve Óg O’Leary (Blackrock College RFC/Munster)
Mary Healy (Naas/Suttonians/Leinster)
Michelle Claffey (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)
Molly Scuffil-McCabe (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)
Natasja Behan (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)
Neve Jones (Gloucester-Hartpury/Ulster)
Niamh Byrne (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)
Nichola Fryday (Exeter Chiefs/Connacht)(Captain)
Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
Nikki Caughey (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)
Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Shannon Touhey (Tullamore/Connacht)
Vicky Irwin (Sale Sharks/IQ Rugby).

Latest News