World Rugby Sevens Series 2021 schedule update

World Rugby Sevens Series 2021 schedule update

Following rugby sevens’ successful second appearance at the Olympic Games in Tokyo, the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2021 will return with a pair of men’s Series events, combined with women’s fast-four tournaments in Canada, with Vancouver on 18-19 September followed by Edmonton on 25-26 September.

The following weekend, on 25-26 September, the teams will switch venues in Canada to compete again at the Commonwealth Stadium in Edmonton, which will host a HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series event for the first time and was the venue of the Rugby World Cup 2006 final. 

The Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens will not take place in November 2021 due to Covid-19 impacts, however the popular event will return to the Series on 1-3 April 2022.

It has also been decided that the HSBC Paris Sevens women’s event, which was originally scheduled to take place in Marcoussis in May, will also not take place in 2021 due to Covid-19 impacts.

The updated 2021 Series now includes five men’s and two women’s rounds planned to take place in the final four months of the year.

Latest News