Premiership Team News: Bristol Bears vs Leicester Tigers

Premiership Team News: Bristol Bears vs Leicester Tigers

Bristol Bears

The Bristol Bears have made 10 changes to face Leicester Tigers for Round 21 of the Premiership.

Sam Bedlow makes his comeback from a shoulder injury to start for the first time since the Gallagher Premiership restart on Wednesday.

Only Callum Sheedy and Alapati Leiua retain their places in the backline, as Niyi Adeolokun is set for his first home outing in a Bears jersey.

In the pack, Steven Luatua captains the side from the back row, while Nathan Hughes and Kyle Sinckler are also retained from Friday’s starting line-up.

Leicester Tigers

Thom Smith will captain Leicester Tigers in the penultimate round of the 2019/20 Gallagher Premiership season.

The academy graduate will lead Tigers for the second time in just his ninth senior appearance for the club, with the support of three vice-captains, Luke Wallace, Ben White and Freddie Steward.

Smith starts at No8 alongside Wallace and Ollie Chessum in the back row, with Cameron Henderson and Blake Enever named as the lock pairing.

Facundo Gigena, who came off the bench in the European Challenge Cup semi-final in Toulon, starts at loosehead prop and is joined by Jake Kerr and Joe Heyes in the starting front row.

White and Zack Henry, who were used off the bench in Saturday’s fixture in France, are the half-backs, with George Worth partnering Dan Kelly at centre.

Harry Simmons and Harry Potter are the starting wings, with Steward – in a leadership role for the first time in his senior career – at full-back.

Shalva Mamukashvili is in line to make his club debut after being included among the replacements alongside fellow forwards Ryan Bower, Nephi Leatigaga, Sam Lewis and Jordan Coghlan. Jack Van Poortvliet, Johnny McPhillips and David Williams are included as backs cover. 

Figure image

Latest News