Josh Adams starts in the midfield against Fiji

Josh Adams starts in the midfield against Fiji

Wales have named their side to take on Fiji in the third game of the Autumn Nations Series, at Principality Stadium on Sunday.

Head Coach Wayne Pivac has made just one change to the pack that faced South Africa last weekend, with Thomas Young coming on to the openside flank and Taine Basham moving to No 8 in place of the injured Aaron Wainwright.

Outside half Dan Biggar remains the cornerstone in a much-changed backline. Scrum-half Kieran Hardy gets his first opportunity of the Autumn Nations Series with Tomos Williams moving to the replacements bench.

Johnny Williams returns to the centre, having started against New Zealand in the opening round, and he’ll be joined in midfield by Cardiff Rugby’s Josh Adams. With Adams taking up a spot in the centre Louis Rees-Zammit moves to the left wing allowing Ospreys’ Alex Cuthbert an opportunity to come in on the right wing, his first international appearance since November 2017.

Scarlets’ Liam Williams returns to the starting line-up, having last started for Wales in the defeat to France in the 2021 Six Nations.

Loosehead prop Gareth Thomas, loose forward Christ Tshiunza and Callum Sheedy will look to make their first appearances of the campaign from the bench on Sunday.

Tshiunza, 19-years-old, will be the fourth player to be capped by Pivac during the campaign if he gets on.

The two sides, which will once again feature in the same Rugby World Cup pool in 2023, last faced each other in the pool stages of the competition in Japan, 2019.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Ultimate Rugby (@ultimaterugby)

Wales team to face Fiji, at Principality Stadium, on Sunday 14th November 2021;
15 Liam Williams (Scarlets)
14 Alex Cuthbert (Ospreys)
13 Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby)
12 Johnny Williams (Scarlets)
11 Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby)
10 Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints)
9 Kieran Hardy (Scarlets)
1 Rhys Carré (Cardiff Rugby)
2 Ryan Elias (Scarlets)
3 Tomas Francis (Ospreys)
4 Will Rowlands (Dragons)
5 Adam Beard (Ospreys)
6 Ellis Jenkins (Cardiff Rugby – captain)
7 Thomas Young (Wasps Rugby)
8 Taine Basham (Dragons)

16 Bradley Roberts (Ulster)
17 Gareth Thomas (Ospreys)
18 WillGriff John (Scarlets)
19 Christ Tshiunza (Exeter Chiefs – uncapped)
20 Seb Davies (Cardiff Rugby)
21 Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby)
22 Callum Sheedy (Bristol Bears)
23 Nick Tompkins (Saracens)

Latest News