Harlequins make one change, Montpellier throw an selection surprise

Harlequins make one change, Montpellier throw an selection surprise

Harlequins and Montpellier have named their matchday squads for the second leg of the Round of 16 Champions Cup clash.

Quins have made just one change to the matchday 23 from last weekend while Montpellier have made a host of changes with just two players retained in the starting XV from the 40-26 victory.

Will Evans replaces Tom Lawday in a straight swap in the number seven jersey. After scoring his first Champions Cup try, George Hammond retains his place as blindside flanker and the tight five remains the same with Quins looking to reduce a fourteen point deficit.

Harlequins' backline is unchanged after an impressive last 30 minutes in Montpellier which saw the side from South West London run over four tries. Similarly to the backs, Quins' Impact Players remain untouched with all eight players retainting their places in the matchday squad from last weekend.

Second rower Paul Willemse is the only forward to start both legs of the tie for Montpellier while Gabriel Ngandebe switches wings and is the only backline player retained in the starting line up.

Teenager Aubin Eymeri joins 20-yeaer-old Louis Foursans as the new halfback combination for Montpellier with Handre Pollard starting his first game of the year at inside centre. Yvan Reilhac partners Pollard in the centres.

Julien Tisseron starts at fullback with Gabriel N'gandebe and Pierre Lucas on the wings.

Montpellier have injected experience into the pack with former France captain Guilhem Guirado joined by Georgian veteran Mikheil Nariashvili and Englishman Henry Thomas.

Florian Verhaeghe joins Paul Willemse in the second row with Yacouba Camara captaining the Club from the side of the scrum. Alexandre Becognee replaces man of the match Zach Mercer from last week with Montpellier's most capped player, Fulgence Ouedraogo, starting on the blindside.

Jeremie Maurouard, Robert Rodgers, Titi Lamositele, Zach Mercer, Martin Doan, Geoffrey Doumayrou,  Anthony Bouthier, and Bastien Chalureau feature on the bench.



15. Huw Jones, 14. Louis Lynagh, 13. Joe Marchant, 12. Andre Esterhuizen, 11. Cadan Murley, 10. Marcus Smith, 9. Danny Care, 1. Joe Marler, 2. Jack Walker , 3. Will Collier, 4. Matt Symons, 5. Hugh Tizard, 6. George Hammond, 7. Will Evans, 8. Alex Dombrandt (c).

16. Joe Gray, 17. Simon Kerrod, 18. Wilco Louw, 19. Matas Jurevicius, 20. Luke Wallace, 21. Lewis Gjaltema, 22. Will Edwards, 23. Nick David,


15. Julien Tisseron, 14. Gabriel N'gandebe, 13. Yvan Reilhac, 12. Handré Pollard, 11. Pierre Lucas, 10. Louis Foursans, 9. Aubin Eymeri, 1. Mikheil Nariashvili, 2. Guilhem Guirado, 3. Henry Thomas, 4. Florian Verhaeghe, 5. Paul Willemse, 6. Fulgence Ouedraogo, 7. Yacouba Camara (c), 8. Alexandre Becognee.

16. Jeremie Maurouard, 17. Robert Rodgers, 18. Titi Lamositele, 19. Zach Mercer, 20. Martin Doan, 21. Geoffrey Doumayrou, 22. Anthony Bouthier, 23. Bastien Chalureau,

Latest News