England team announcement: England v New Zealand

England team announcement: England v New Zealand

Eddie Jones has named the England team who will play New Zealand at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday (5.30pm KO).

Captain Owen Farrell will make his 100th appearance for England at inside centre.  Farrell made his debut against Scotland in February 2012 and he becomes only the third England men’s player to reach a century of caps.

Manu Tuilagi returns to the starting line-up at outside centre.  Marcus Smith is at fly half and Jack van Poortvliet is at scrum half.

Vice-captain Jack Nowell is at right wing, Jonny May is on the left wing and Freddie Steward is at full back.

In an unchanged front row from England’s 52-13 win over Japan, props Ellis Genge (vice-captain) and Kyle Sinckler join hooker Luke Cowan-Dickie.  Maro Itoje returns to lock alongside Jonny Hill.

Sam Simmonds moves to flanker with Tom Curry and Billy Vunipola is at No. 8.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Ultimate Rugby (@ultimaterugby)

Will Stuart returns from injury and is named as finisher, alongside David Ribbans who could add to his first cap which he received against Japan.  Jack Willis is named in the 23 and is joined by Jamie George, Mako Vunipola, Ben Youngs, Guy Porter and Henry Slade.

The match marks the first meet between the two sides since England beat the All Blacks 19-7 in the 2019 Rugby World Cup semi-final.

Eddie Jones said: “This fixture doesn’t come around too often and these are the games that players remember in their careers.

“New Zealand have had the upper hand over the years, but it’s been more balanced in recent times and the players have a chance to play their part in history.

“We’ve had a great week preparing for the game and the team is ready to go at them.

“We’re really pleased for Owen that he is reaching such a significant and special milestone.  He is an excellent player and competitor and he is deserving of every cap.”

England v New Zealand is live on Amazon Prime Sport and talkSPORT.

15. Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers, 15 caps)
14. Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 43 caps)
13. Manu Tuilagi (Sale Sharks, 48 caps)
12. Owen Farrell (Saracens, 99 caps)
11. Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 70 caps)
10. Marcus Smith (Harlequins, 15 caps)
9. Jack van Poortvliet (Leicester Tigers, 5 caps)
1. Ellis Genge (Bristol Bears, 41 caps)
2. Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 39 caps)
3. Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, 54 caps)
4. Maro Itoje (Saracens, 60 caps)
5. Jonny Hill (Sale Sharks, 17 caps)
6. Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, 16 caps)
7. Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 43 caps)
8. Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 66 caps)
16. Jamie George (Saracens, 70 caps)
17. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 72 caps)
18. Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 23 caps)
19. David Ribbans (Northampton Saints, 1 cap)
20. Jack Willis (unattached, 5 caps)
21. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 119 caps)
22. Guy Porter (Leicester Tigers, 3 caps)
23. Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 50 caps)

Latest News