Eddie Jones after a flank to play wing as he names his Wallaby squad

Eddie Jones after a flank to play wing as he names his Wallaby squad

Test centurions Michael Hooper and James Slipper will co-captain the Wallabies in 2023 after head coach Eddie Jones unveiled a 34-man squad for the eToro Rugby Championship.

31-year-old Hooper holds the record for the most Tests as Wallaby captain with 68, while Slipper currently sits third on the all-time Wallabies appearances list behind Stephen Moore (129) and George Gregan (139), playing 127 matches for his country.

It’s the first time the Wallabies have installed co-captains, with Hooper now having been appointed as leader of the national side under four separate head coaches.

Wallabies head coach Eddie Jones said: “Michael and James are both world class players, strong leaders and embody what it means to be a Wallaby.”

“They have worked hard with the leadership group since January, and it will be important they continue to have strong support from the players around them.

“Getting selected in the squad is just the start, we’ve got to build the team now and that will require hard work and getting a little bit more out of everyone involved.”

Wallabies co-captain Michael Hooper said: “It’s an absolute honour to lead the squad alongside Slips. We’ve been having great discussions as a leadership group and wider squad throughout the year and there’s a really optimistic mindset as a collective heading into what’s a massive four months.”

Wallabies co-captain James Slipper said: “I’m really proud to lead my country and am looking forward to working with Hoops and Eddie to bring this group together and win trophies.”

Jones has named eight uncapped players in the group with Melbourne Rebels duo Carter Gordon and Josh Kemeny rewarded with selection in their first national squad, along with Reds front rowers Matt Faessler and Zane Nonggorr.

ACT Brumbies teammates Tom Hooper and Ryan Lonergan have also earned call-ups, as has NSW Waratahs flyer and former Australia Sevens representative Dylan Pietsch.

Towering lock, Richie Arnold is the final uncapped player in the squad, joining the group just over a week after winning the Top 14 with Stade Toulouse in France.

Under Rugby Australia’s (RA) Overseas Players Selection Policy (which replaced the previous “Giteau Law” in 2021), the national coach can apply to RA’s Rugby Committee for more than the normal three eligible overseas players in the case of extenuating circumstances.

For The 2023 Rugby Championship, Wallabies Team Management requested, and received approval to select two additional overseas-based players for a total of five in the squad of 34 players.

The three selected under the standard policy are centre Samu Kerevi, winger Marika Koroibete and lock Will Skelton, with the additional two players being Richie Arnold after his championship-winning season in France, and experienced flyhalf and 76-Test veteran Quade Cooper.

The squad will assemble on the Gold Coast later today as they ramp up preparations for their eToro Rugby Championship opener against South Africa in Pretoria on July 8 (local time).

Eddie Jones will appear on Channel Nine’s Sport Sunday at 10:40am AEST.

Squad summary

Total Test caps: 844

Average Test caps: 25

Average age: 27

Uncapped players: 8 (Arnold, Faessler, Gordon, T Hooper, Kemeny, Lonergan, Nonggorr, Pietsch)

Most capped: James Slipper (127 Tests)


Allan Alaalatoa (29, ACT Brumbies, 64 Tests)

Richie Arnold (32, Stade Toulousain, uncapped)

Matt Faessler (24, Queensland Reds, uncapped)

Nick Frost (23, ACT Brumbies, 9 Tests)

Matt Gibbon (28, Melbourne Rebels, 5 Tests)

Jed Holloway (30, NSW Waratahs, 10 Tests)

Michael Hooper (co-captain) (31, NSW Waratahs, 124 Tests)

Tom Hooper (22, ACT Brumbies, uncapped)

Rob Leota (26, Melbourne Rebels, 13 Tests)

Fraser McReight (24, Queensland Reds, 10 Tests)

Zane Nonggorr (22, Queensland Reds, uncapped)

David Porecki (30, NSW Waratahs, 10 Tests)

Pete Samu (31, ACT Brumbies, 32 Tests)

Will Skelton (31, La Rochelle, 24 Tests)

James Slipper (co-captain) (34, ACT Brumbies, 127 Tests)

Taniela Tupou (27, Queensland Reds, 47 Tests)

Jordan Uelese (26, Melbourne Rebels, 15 Tests)

Rob Valetini (24, ACT Brumbies, 30 Tests)


Quade Cooper (35, Kintetsu Liners, 76 Tests)

Lalakai Foketi (28, NSW Waratahs, 5 Tests)

Carter Gordon (22, Melbourne Rebels, uncapped)

Reece Hodge (28, Melbourne Rebels, 54 Tests)

Len Ikitau (24, ACT Brumbies, 26 Tests)

Marika Koroibete (30, Saitama Wild Knights, 51 Tests)

Ryan Lonergan (25, ACT Brumbies, uncapped)

Tate McDermott (24, Queensland Reds, 21 Tests)

Mark Nawaqanitawase (22, NSW Waratahs, 3 Tests)

Izaia Perese (26, NSW Waratahs, 3 Tests)

Suliasi Vunivalu (27, Queensland Reds, 1 Test)

Nic White (33, ACT Brumbies, 59 Tests)

Tom Wright (26, ACT Brumbies, 23 Tests)


Ben Donaldson (23, NSW Waratahs, 2 Tests)

Josh Kemeny (24, Melbourne Rebels, uncapped)

Dylan Pietsch (25, NSW Waratahs, uncapped)

Rehab Group

Angus Bell (22, NSW Waratahs, 20 Tests)

Langi Gleeson (21, NSW Waratahs, 3 Tests)

Andrew Kellaway (27, Melbourne Rebels, 21 Tests)

Samu Kerevi (29, Urayasu D-Rocks, 41 Tests)

Jordan Petaia (23, Queensland Reds, 25 Tests)

Matt Philip (29, Melbourne Rebels, 27 Tests)

Not considered for selection due to injury

Max Jorgensen

Tom Robertson

Izack Rodda

Corey Toole

2023 eToro Rugby Championship and Bledisloe Cup Fixtures

Wallabies v South Africa, 5:05pm SAST/1:05am AEST, Saturday 8 July at Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Pretoria

Wallabies v Argentina, 7:45pm AEST, Saturday 15 July at CommBank Stadium, Sydney

Wallabies v New Zealand, 7:45pm AEST, Saturday 29 July at Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

Wallabies v New Zealand, 2:35pm NZST/12:35pm AEST Saturday 5 August at Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin


Train-On Squad


Charlie Cale

Josh Canham

Pone Fa'amausili

Folau Fainga'a

Charlie Gamble

Ned Hanigan

Tom Lambert

Lachlan Lonergan

Cadeyrn Neville

Lukhan Salakaia-Loto

Blake Schoupp

Darcy Swain

Lachlan Swinton

Sam Talakai

Brad Wilkin

Harry Wilson


Lachlan Anderson

Jock Campbell

Filipo Daugunu

Issak Fines-Leleiwasa

Josh Flook

Bernard Foley

Jake Gordon

James O'Connor

Hunter Paisami

James Tuttle

Joey Walton


Seru Uru

Latest News