David Ribbans to make England debut vs Japan

David Ribbans to make England debut vs Japan

Eddie Jones has named his 23-player team for England’s match against Japan at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday [12 November, 3.15pm KO].

David Ribbans will make his England debut after being named at lock.  He will play alongside Jonny Hill (lock), while props Ellis Genge (vice-captain) and Kyle Sinckler and hooker Luke Cowan-Dickie will complete the tight five.

Sam Simmonds comes in at No 8 with Maro Itoje and Tom Curry staying as flankers.

There is a return for Jonny May, following injury, for the first time since November 2021 on the left wing.  Jack Nowell (vice-captain) is at right wing and Freddie Steward is full back.

Owen Farrell (inside centre) will again captain the side for his 99th cap.  Guy Porter comes in at outside centre.

Jack van Poortvliet will start at scrum half and Marcus Smith stays at fly half.

Jamie George also returns from injury and is named as finisher, alongside Alex Coles who could add to the debut cap he won last week.  They are joined by Mako Vunipola, Joe Heyes, Billy Vunipola, Ben Youngs, Henry Slade and Manu Tuilagi to complete the 23.

England v Japan is live on Amazon Prime Sport and talkSPORT.
15. Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers, 14 caps)
14. Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 43 caps)
13. Guy Porter (Leicester Tigers, 2 caps)
12. Owen Farrell (C) (Saracens, 98 caps)
11. Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 69 caps)
10. Marcus Smith (Harlequins, 14 caps)
9. Jack van Poortvliet (Leicester Tigers, 4 caps)
1. Ellis Genge (Bristol Bears, 40 caps)
2. Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 38 caps)
3. Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, 53 caps)
4. David Ribbans (Northampton Saints, uncapped)
5. Jonny Hill (Sale Sharks, 16 caps)
6. Maro Itoje (Saracens, 59 caps)
7. Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 42 caps)
8. Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, 15 caps)
16. Jamie George (Saracens, 69 caps)
17. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 71 caps)
18. Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers, 6 caps)
19. Alex Coles (Northampton Saints, 1 cap)
20. Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 65 caps)
21. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 118 caps)
22. Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 49 caps)
23. Manu Tuilagi (Sale Sharks, 47 caps)

Latest News