Brumbies ready to clash with Drua

Brumbies ready to clash with Drua

The Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies have named their side to tackle the Fijian Drua this Saturday evening at GIO Stadium, kicking off at 2:35PM AEST.

After defeating Super Rugby Pacific ladder leaders the Hurricanes 27-19 last weekend, the Brumbies look forward to hosting another home fixture in the Capital.

Canberra local Connal McInerney has been named to make his first start this season. He will partner James Slipper and Allan Alaalatoa in the front row. Alaalatoa leading the Brumbies line-up onto the paddock this Saturday for the first time after returning from injury last weekend.

Nick Frost also makes a return for this weekend's clash, linking with Tom Hooper who has also been named in the second-row. Jahrome Brown will start, with Rory Scott and Rob Valetini completing the back-row.

Scrum-half Harrison Goddard has been named to pair with Noah Lolesio, who has been named at fly-half. Tamati Tua, who had a breakout match last weekend will feature beside outside centre Len Ikitau.

Ollie Sapsford shifts to the opposite wing after Corey Toole was ruled out to an injury sustained in last weekend's Hurricanes encounter. Andy Muirhead, who made a successful return to the field last Saturday, will also start alongside Tom Wright who completes the backline.

Head Coach Stephen Larkham has named a 5-3 split for his interchange bench this weekend. With Billy Pollard, Harry Vella and Sefo Kautai providing cover for the front row.

Darcy Swain and Luke Reimer will provide some fire power off the bench, with Vice-Captain Ryan Lonergan, Declan Meredith and Hudson Creighton rounding out the interchange.

The Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies host the Fijian Drua in Round 11, kicking off at 7:35PM AEST this Saturday, May 4 at GIO Stadium. The ACT Veterans will feature in a curtain raiser against the Navy Old Salts starting from 5:45PM AEST.
Gates open at 5:45PM AEST, with tickets on sale here.

2024 Super Rugby Pacific – Round 11
Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies v Fijian Drua
Saturday 4 May, 7:35PM AEST
GIO Stadium, Canberra

Starting XV

  1. James Slipper (Queanbeyan Whites)
  2. Connal McInerney (Canberra Royals)
  3. Allan Alaalatoa (C) (Uni-Norths Owls)
  4. Nick Frost (Queanbeyan Whites)
  5. Tom Hooper (Tuggeranong Vikings)
  6. Jahrome Brown (Gungahlin Eagles)
  7. Rory Scott (Canberra Royals)
  8. Rob Valetini (Western Districts)
  9. Harrison Goddard (Queanbeyan Whites)
  10. Noah Lolesio (Tuggeranong Vikings)
  11. Ollie Sapsford (Uni-Norths Owls)
  12. Tamati Tua (Queanbeyan Whites)
  13. Len Ikitau (Tuggeranong Vikings)
  14. Andy Muirhead (Canberra Royals)
  15. Tom Wright (Western Districts)

16. Billy Pollard (Uni-Norths Owls)
17. Harry Vella (Canberra Royals)
18. Sefo Kautai (Canberra Royals)
19. Darcy Swain (Tuggeranong Vikings)
20. Luke Reimer (Western Districts)
21. Ryan Lonergan (VC) (Tuggeranong Vikings)
22. Declan Meredith (Western Districts)
23. Hudson Creighton (Queanbeyan Whites)

Head Coach
Stephen Larkham

Latest News