Bedford Blues name team for Bristol clash

Bedford Blues name team for Bristol clash

Mike Rayer has named a 30-man squad as Bedford Blues turn their attentions away from Championship action this week by hosting Premiership heavyweights, Bristol Bears under the Friday Night Lights (KO 7:45pm).

Tomorrow’s contest will be the 81st meeting between the two sides throughout history and a first since 2018 when Bristol secured their most recent promotion to the top-flight.

The last contest between them at Goldington Road saw 99 points shared and another cracker is expected again this time around, with upwards of 60 players expected to get game time as both sides prepare for their respective league run ins.

Friday’s Starting XV shows eight changes compared to the team which took to the field against Hartpury last weekend, as Rayer looks to put vital match minutes into the legs of all available players.

Bryan O’Connor and Jordan Onojaife will both get some involvement having recovered from recent injury problems. Joe Howard sustained a minor problem against his former employers and will miss the contest, while front row duo Oisin Heffernan and Jacob Fields are also unavailable.

Bedford Blues would like to once again thank Bristol Bears and Pat Lam for agreeing to this fixture at Goldington Road and we look forward to welcoming them tomorrow night.

Bedford Blues Starting XV:

15. Matt Worley, 14. Sean French, 13. Jamie Elliott, 12. Jordan Venter, 11. Dean Adamson, 10. Louis Grimoldby, 9. James Lennon; 1. Joey Conway, 2. James Fish (C), 3. Bryan O’Connor, 4. Robin Williams, 5. Alex Woolford, 6. Jac Arthur, 7. Kieran Curran, 8. Cameron King

Bedford Blues Replacements:

Jamie Jack, Isaac Bell, Ed Prowse, Jordan Onojaife, Emeka Atuanya, Luke Frost, Geordie Irvine, Reuben Logan, Alex Day, Will Maisey, Jake Garside, Will Glister, Michael Le Bourgeois, Pay Tapley, Ewan Baker

Latest News