Barrett brothers named in Taranaki's first team of the season

Barrett brothers named in Taranaki's first team of the season

Taranaki will open their Mitre 10 Cup campaign on Sunday with Beauden and Jordie Barrett both starting for the side that will take on Bay of Plenty.

Beauden has been named to start at first-five while Jordie Barrett has selected at fullback respectively for the Bulls' opener against Bay of Plenty in Inglewood.



It will be Jordie Barrett's debut game for his region despite hailing from the region having grown up on a farm with his two All Black brothers in Pungarehu as the youngest Barrett brother represented Canterbury before making the switch in 2017 while Beauden will don the amber and black jersey for the first time since 2015. 


"It's not every day or every match you can name two Barretts in your run-on side and we know how much quality they will bring. Their presence, along with a number of guys who have come in, has given the entire squad a real boost at a really exciting time for all of us." - Taranaki coach Willie Rickards said.


Beauden and Jordie will be in somewhat unknown territory down in the Championship, having played their entire provincial careers in the Premiership.


Joining the Barretts in the side is stand out Chiefs' back Sean Wainui who is joined n the midfield by Highlander Teihorangi Walden. There is more of Chiefs' feel to the back row with Lachlan Boshier named at openside with fellow Chief Mitchell Brown captaining the side from the blind.


New All Black squad member Tupou Vaa'i locks down in the second row with Hurricanes' hooker Ricky Riccitelli starting alongside Ben May and Jared Proffit.




Taranaki side to face Bay of Plenty: 


15. Jordie Barrett, 14. Jacob Ratumaitavuki-Kneepkens, 13. Sean Wainui, 12. Teihorangi Walden, 11. Lewis Ormond, 10. Beauden Barrett, 9. Lisati Milo-Harris, 8. Mitchell Crosswell, 7. Lachlan Boshier, 6. Mitchell Brown (C), 5. Tupou Vaa'i, 4. Josh Lord, 3. Ben May, 2. Ricky Riccitelli, 1. Jared Proffit. 



Reserves: 16. Bradley Slater, 17. Reuben O'Neill, 18. Donald Brighouse, 19. Tom Florence, 20. Kaylum Boshier, 21. Warwick Lahmert, 22. Jayson Potroz, 23. Codey Rei.

Latest News