Walsh makes four changes for London Sevens

Walsh makes four changes for London Sevens

The Australian Men’s Sevens team for the London Sevens has been named with Lachlan Anderson, Ben O’Donnell, Jesse Parahi and Sam Myers all returning to the squad. 

Anderson (back) returns after injury layoff that’s ruled him out since the HSBC Sydney 7s, with Ben O’Donnell coming off a rest period. Myers and Parahi have impressed selectors with recent performances to earn a spot in the squad.  

Australia will meet Wales, Spain and USA in the battle of Pool D, as the Aussie 7s look to finish the last two rounds of the Series on a high. 

Australia currently sits in seventh position on the HSBC Sevens World Series Ladder with two rounds left to play on the Series. 

With automatic qualification now no longer a possibility for Australia, the Aussie 7s will be looking to finish the season with a wet sail ahead of an Olympic qualification battle at the Oceania Sevens Championship in Suva, Fiji in November. 

Australian Men’s Sevens Head Coach, Tim Walsh said: “We are approaching these last two tournaments with an unrelenting attitude to our preparation. We want to leave a mark on this season and finish strongly. 

“We are yet to achieve this year’s goal of qualifying for the Olympics. There is a lot of Rugby left to play this year and we want to be demonstrating the positive differences in our game to change a mid-table performance to a podium finish. 

“Welcoming Lachie Anderson back is great for the team; Lachie is the consummate professional, developing into a world class player and he’ll add speed and experience to our game. 

“London is one of our favourite places to play and we are always well supported by Aussies in the crowd at Twickenham.   

All matches from the HSBC London Sevens will available LIVE on FOX SPORTS and Kayo. 

Not considered for selection was Tim Anstee (knee) and Nick Malouf (ankle). 

John Porch who has decided to conclude his time with the Australian Sevens program to focus on XVs and has joined Irish club Connacht. 

“We are pleased to see John make a decision that will hopefully bring him fulfillment. John contributed well during his time with the program and we wish him the best with his XVs ambitions and endeavours,” said Walsh. 

1. Joe Pincus, Easts (Sydney), 4 caps 
2. Jeral Skelton, Brothers, 12 caps 
3. Simon Kennewell, Norths (Sydney), 17 caps 
4. Lachlan Anderson, Eastwood, 20 caps  
5. Jesse Parahi, Norths (Sydney) 43 caps 
6. Sam Myers, Norths (Sydney), 37 caps  
7. Lewis Holland (c), Queanbeyan, 45 caps  
8. Josh Coward, Souths (Melbourne), 3 caps
9. Maurice Longbottom, Lloyd McDermott Rugby Development Team, 13 caps
10. Ben O’Donnell, Randwick, 16 caps 
11. Lachlan Miller, Southern Cross University (Coffs Harbour), 4 caps  
12. Henry Hutchison, Randwick, 24 caps 
13th Matt Hood, Sydney University, 4 caps 

More News

Latest News