Wales name team to play Argentina

Wales name team to play Argentina

Head coach Wayne Pivac has named the Wales senior men’s team to face Argentina in the second round of the Autumn Nations Series.

Captain Justin Tipuric, who marked his return to international rugby last weekend with a try, starts at openside flanker. Dan Lydiate is selected at blindside flanker. He makes his first appearance in this Autumn Nations Series having started from that position for all three matches in the July Test series against South Africa. Taulupe Faletau is again named at No. 8.

Dillon Lewis (tight-head prop) will make his 17th start for Wales, joining Gareth Thomas (loose-head prop) and Ken Owens (hooker) in the front row. Adam Beard and Will Rowlands continue their partnership in the second row.

Alex Cuthbert also returns to the Wales starting XV for the first time this autumn taking a position on the wing, with Rio Dyer following up his try-scoring debut against New Zealand with another start in the number 11 jersey.

Louis Rees-Zammit completes the back three with his first international appearance at full back.

Gareth Anscombe, who faced the All Blacks at full back following the late withdrawal of Leigh Halfpenny, will revert to fly half this weekend. Tomos Williams is at scrum half. Nick Tompkins and George North partner up for the fifth time in the centres.

Rhodri Jones (loose-head prop) is named among the replacements and in line to win his first cap since the summer of 2021. Sam Wainwright (tight-head prop), who made his senior international debut during the July Test Series in South Africa, also features on the bench.

Wales senior men’s team to play Argentina in the Autumn Nations Series. Saturday 12 November, KO 5.30pm GMT. Live on Amazon Prime (English and Welsh broadcasts) with highlights on S4C.
15 Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby – 20 caps)
14 Alex Cuthbert (Ospreys – 52 caps)
13 George North (Ospreys – 106 caps)
12 Nick Tompkins (Saracens – 24 caps)
11 Rio Dyer (Dragons – 1 cap)
10 Gareth Anscombe (Ospreys – 33 caps)
9 Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 37 caps);
1 Gareth Thomas (Ospreys – 14 caps)
2 Ken Owens (Scarlets – 83 caps)
3 Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby – 42 caps)
4 Will Rowlands (Dragons – 22 caps)
5 Adam Beard (Ospreys – 38 caps)
6 Dan Lydiate (Ospreys – 68 caps)
7 Justin Tipuric (Ospreys – 86 caps) captain
8 Taulupe Faletau (Cardiff Rugby – 92 caps)

16 Ryan Elias (Scarlets – 31 caps)
17 Rhodri Jones (Dragons – 21 caps)
18 Sam Wainwright (Saracens – 2 caps)
19 Ben Carter (Dragons – 6 caps)
20 Jac Morgan (Ospreys – 3 caps)
21 Kieran Hardy (Scarlets – 15 caps)
22 Rhys Priestland (Cardiff Rugby – 53 caps)
23 Owen Watkin (Ospreys – 34 caps)

Latest News