Ulster to take on Benetton in crucial clash at Kingspan Stadium

Ulster to take on Benetton in crucial clash at Kingspan Stadium

Interim Head Coach, Richie Murphy, has named his team to take on this week’s Italian opponents, Benetton Rugby, at Kingspan Stadium (KO 7 35pm) in Round 15 of the BKT United Rugby Championship.

Lock, Alan O’Connor, captains the side again this week, where he is joined by last week’s BKT Player of the match, Harry Sheridan, in the second row.

Murphy opts for the same front row as last week’s win over Cardiff, with Eric O’Sullivan, Tom Stewart and Scott Wilson retaining their places up front.

The back row sees one change in the line-up, with Development player, Reuben Crothers, starting at openside flanker. Dave Ewers and last week’s try-scorer, David McCann, keep their spots at openside flanker and eight.

Bring the noise under the Friday night lights!

The Ulstermen need your support this Friday, as they take on Italian high-flyers, Benetton Rugby, at Kingspan Stadium. With URC play-off rugby at stake, this match is sure to be a pivotal clash at the business end of the season. Grab your tickets using the link below:

John Cooney, who kicked the late winning penalty against Cardiff last Friday in front of a home crowd, starts at scrum-half. He is joined by Billy Burns at ten to form the half-back partnership.

The backline sees a few changes as Stuart McCloskey and Rob Baloucoune return to the team at centre and right wing respectively.

McCloskey lines up alongside Will Addison at outside centre, who impressed in the position last weekend, following an injury sustained by James Hume.

Jacob Stockdale keeps his jersey on the left wing, and Mike Lowry completes the backfield at full-back.

On the bench the forward options are John Andrew, Andrew Warwick, James French, Cormac Izuchukwu and Greg Jones. Dave Shanahan, Luke Marshall, Ethan McIlroy form the back options.

Ulster Rugby v Benetton, Kingspan Stadium, Friday 26 April, 7 35pm, BKT United Rugby Championship, Round 15, live on BBC NI, Premier Sports, RTE and URC.tv.

(15-9): Mike Lowry, Rob Baloucoune, Will Addison, Stuart McCloskey, Jacob Stockdale, Billy Burns, John Cooney;

(1-8): Eric O’Sullivan, Tom Stewart, Scott Wilson, Harry Sheridan, Alan O’Connor (C), Dave Ewers, Reuben Crothers, David McCann.

Replacements: John Andrew, Andrew Warwick, James French, Cormac Izuchukwu, Greg Jones, Dave Shanahan, Luke Marshall, Ethan McIlroy.

Latest News