Stewart to debut in Wallaroos clash against Scotland

Stewart to debut in Wallaroos clash against Scotland

Wallaroos head coach Jay Tregonning has named his side for Australia’s second Rugby World Cup match against Scotland, which will take place this Saturday in Whangarei.

Having fully recovered from her ACL injury, winger Maya Stewart is set to make her debut, replacing Ivania Wong in the line-up.

Tighthead prop Eva Karpani has been added to the starting side in lieu of Bridie O’Gorman, who moves to the reserves, while Liz Patu and Adiana Talakai remain the other starting front rowers.

Locks Sera Naiqama and Atasi Lafai complete an unchanged second row, while flankers Emily Chancellor and captain Shannon Parry will resume their usual positions on the field.

“Even though the game at Eden Park didn’t go our way last weekend, it was an invaluable experience for the team,” said Parry.

“Everyone is on the same page for this weekend, we’re all reaching for the same goal and our training has reflected that.

“There’s been a shift in our intensity and the team is raring to compete against Scotland.”

Stalwart Grace Hamilton maintains her place at number 8, supported by veteran scrum-half Iliseva Batibasaga and fly-half Arabella McKenzie.

The impressive Bienne Terita will join debutante Maya Stewart on the wings after her sensational double at last week’s match against the Black Ferns – the teenager has now scored four tries in her first two matches for the Wallaroos.

Centres Georgina Friedrichs and Sharni Williams will lend experience and speed to the Australian side, while Lori Cramer returns to the starting XV at fullback, with Pauline Piliae-Rasabale reverting to the bench.

“The team is incredibly excited to welcome Maya Stewart for her debut this weekend,” said Tregonning.

“Her journey has been remarkable - coming back from an ACL injury is never easy, but Stewart has done it with a smile on her face the whole way through.

“As a team, we’ve analysed our performance against New Zealand, refocused our goals and are looking for the win this weekend.”

The Australia v Scotland Rugby World Cup game will kick off at 3:00pm NZST (1:00pm AEST) this Saturday, 15 October, at Northland Events Centre in Whangarei.

The match will be shown live, ad-free, and on-demand on Stan Sport.

Wallaroos team to play Scotland at Northland Events Centre, Whangarei, on Saturday 15 October, 3:00pm NZDT / 1:00PM AEDT

  1. Liz Patu – Queensland Reds
  2. Adiana Talakai – New South Wales Waratahs
  3. Eva Karpani – New South Wales Waratahs
  4. Sera Naiqama – New South Wales Waratahs
  5. Atasi Lafai – New South Wales Waratahs
  6. Emily Chancellor – New South Wales Waratahs
  7. Shannon Parry (C) – Queensland Reds
  8. Grace Hamilton – New South Wales Waratahs
  9. Iliseva Batibasaga – New South Wales Waratahs
  10. Arabella McKenzie – New South Wales Waratahs
  11. Maya Stewart – New South Wales Waratahs
  12. Sharni Williams – Australian Rugby Sevens
  13. Georgina Friedrichs – New South Wales Waratahs
  14. Bienne Terita – Australian Rugby Sevens
  15. Lori Cramer – New South Wales Waratahs


  1. Ashley Marsters – Melbourne Rebels
  2. Emily Robinson – New South Wales Waratahs
  3. Bridie O’Gorman – New South Wales Waratahs
  4. Grace Kemp - ACT Brumbies
  5. Piper Duck – ACT Brumbies
  6. Layne Morgan – New South Wales Waratahs
  7. Trilleen Pomare - Western Force
  8. Pauline Piliae-Rasabale – New South Wales Waratahs

Latest News