Sharks name side for Edinburgh clash

Sharks name side for Edinburgh clash

Vodacom United Rugby Championship rugby continues after a two week break with the Cell C Sharks taking on Edinburgh at the DAM Health Stadium in Scotland’s capital city on Saturday evening.

Cell C Sharks director of Rugby, Neil Powell, has made five changes to last week’s starting line-up, resting his Springbok contingent of Eben Etzebeth, Siya Kolisi, Jaden Hendrikse and Lukhanyo Am and bringing in Hyron Andrews, the Venter duo of James and Henco (who comes in for Vincent Tshituka), with two backline changes, Grant Williams for Hendrikse at scrumhalf and Francois Venter taking over from Am where he partners Ben Tapuai.

“At this stage of the season, we’ve addressed where we’re lying on the log and where we feel we should be sitting, but we have played two games less than some of the teams, and we know the games we have left we have to win and that starts this weekend where we’re looking to put in a good performance,” Tapuai explains.

Despite the Edinburgh team missing players to the Scottish camp this weekend, the Australian international believes their opponents will be no less dangerous.

“We can’t read too much into that, they are a very strong, quality side that has been in this competition for a long time, while this is only our second year and we’re still learning the ropes.

“Whether they have their Scottish internationals or they don’t, we know it’s important for their campaign to try and finish as high as they can, the same for us.

“Coming off a disappointing loss against Harlequins last week, we’re just focusing on ourselves and trying to get everything sorted for this match.”

Saturday’s kick-off is at 19H15 CAT.

Cell C Sharks
1. Ox Nche
2. Kerron van Vuuren
3. Thomas du Toit
4. Hyron Andrews
5. Gerbrandt Grobler
6. James Venter
7. Henco Venter
8. Phepsi Buthelezi (c)
9. Grant Williams
10. Curwin Bosch
11. Thaakir Abrahams
12. Ben Tapuai
13. Francois Venter
14. Marnus Potgieter
15. Aphelele Fassi

16. Dan Jooste
17. Ntuthuko Mchunu
18. Carlü Sadie
19. Reniel Hugo
20. Sikhumbuzo Notshe
21. Cameron Wright
22. Lionel Cronje
23. Yaw Penxe

Latest News