SA Under-18 Sevens squad named for Commonwealth Youth Games

SA Under-18 Sevens squad named for Commonwealth Youth Games

The South African Under-18 Sevens team to participate at the Commonwealth Youth Games in Trinidad and Tobago next month has been named.


The Youth Games will take place from 4-11 August. South Africa won the gold medal when they last participated in the tournament, in Samoa in 2016.


Team South Africa, consisting of 49 athletes representing seven different sporting codes, will depart for Trinidad and Tobago on Friday, 28 July.


Marius Schoeman, SA Rugby’s High-Performance Manager for Sevens, will coach the team. Schoeman had a recent training camp with the squad in Bloemfontein and said he is optimistic about the talent at his disposal.


“I had good co-operation from the SA Schools selectors, as some of these players are contenders for those teams too due to their good performances at the current Craven Week in George, and I want to thank them for that. This is an exciting group, no doubt,” said Schoeman, who will confirm the captain before departure.


The SA U18 Sevens squad: Siyanda Nkosi (Northwood HS, Sharks), Fano Linde (Bethlehem Voortrekker, Griffons), Jeffwin Wesso (Outeniqua HS, SWD), Luann Olivier (Garsfontein HS, Blue Bulls), James Nero (Durbanville HS, Western Province), Thandolwami Ntshangase (Durban HS, Sharks), Gino Cupido (Strand HS, Western Province), Siyabonga Ndlozi (Westville BHS, Sharks), Lavela Pongolo (Grey HS, Eastern Province), Bernardo Diedericks (Robertson HS, Boland), Samuel Badenhorst (Paul Roos Gymnasium, Western Province), Luan Giliomee (Charlie Hofmeyr HS, Boland), Marno Stopforth (Grey Kollege, Free State).

Latest News