Rowntree named URC Coach of the season

Rowntree named URC Coach of the season

Munster Rugby’s Graham Rowntree has been voted BKT Coach of the Season following another excellent campaign with the Irish province.

Having led Munster to BKT URC glory last season, Rowntree and our coaching team have followed that up with another excellent run of form post-Christmas, leading the province to 11 wins in a row.

Munster finished top of the table during the regular season and reached this year’s semi-final of the BKT URC.

The BKT Coach of the Season is voted for by the league’s head coaches with Rowntree receiving the recognition from his peers.

“Graham has done an excellent job this season with Munster, guiding them to the top of the table in the regular season. He has demonstrated excellent leadership with Munster’s stunning unbeaten run, and at BKT we know that a positive leadership is a key to teamwork success.

“In creating a custom ring for the BKT Coach of the Season, our company wants this achievement to live long in the memory. Congratulations to Graham on his fantastic work this season and we wish him all the best in the future,” said Lucia Salmaso, CEO of BKT Europe.

Only one prize now remains to be announced with the Players’ Player of the Season set to be revealed tomorrow.

Be sure to follow all the URC Awards announcements using the hashtag #URCAwards.

URC Awards Winners 2023/24

Tackle Machine: Alessandro Izekor (Benetton Rugby)

Turnover King: Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby)

Gilbert Golden Boot: Chris Smith (Vodacom Bulls)

OFX Top Try Scorer: Johnny Matthews (Glasgow Warriors)

Ironman Award: Shane Daly (Munster Rugby)

Next-Gen Player of the Season: Jack Crowley (Munster Rugby)

Try of the Season Powered by Aphelele Fassi (Hollywoodbets Sharks)

Elixirr Innovation Award: Benetton

Elite XV: Warrick Gelant (DHL Stormers), Jordan Larmour (Leinster Rugby), Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors), Alex Nankivell (Munster Rugby), Kurt-Lee Arendse (Vodacom Bulls), Jack Crowley (Munster Rugby), John Cooney (Ulster Rugby), Ox Nche (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Akker van der Merwe (Vodacom Bulls), Wilco Louw (Vodacom Bulls), Tadhg Beirne (Munster Rugby), Ruan Nortjé (Vodacom Bulls), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby), Elrigh Louw (Vodacom Bulls), Cameron Hanekom (Vodacom Bulls).

Vodacom URC Player of the Season: Sanele Nohamba (Emirates Lions)

BKT Coach of the Season: Graham Rowntree (Munster Rugby)

Latest News