NRC Round Five Round Up

NRC Round Five Round Up

The Western Force’s undefeated streak has come to an end at the hands of the NSW Country Eagles in round five of the 2019 National Rugby Championship.

NSW Country overpowered the Force in an entertaining clash in Port Macquarie. Despite the loss, the West Australian outfit has maintained its position atop the competition ladder, four points clear of the second-placed Eagles.

In other matches the Melbourne Rising confined Sydney to the competition cellar after their second consecutive victory. Elsewhere across the weekend, the Canberra Vikings and Queensland Country both chalked up convincing wins at home to remain firmly in finals contention. 

Teams will return to action next week in Rural Aid Round as they vie for crucial competition points heading into the semi-finals. 

Canberra Vikings 41 defeated Fijian Drua 28 
Canberra Vikings
Tries: Toni Pulu 2, Tom Banks 2, Thomas Wright, Ryan Lonergan, Mack Hansen 
Cons: Ryan Lonergan 2, Bayley Kuenzle 

Fijian Drua
Tries: Epeli Radaniva 2, Nacanieli Narequva, Eremasi Radrodro
Cons: Enele Tikotani 3, Johnny Dyer 

Bond University Queensland Country 42 defeated Brisbane City 26 
Queensland Country 
Tries: Harry Wilson 2, Tate McDermott 2, Daniel Boardman, Filipo Daugunu 
Cons: Rohan Saifoloi 6 
Brisbane City 
Tries: Isaac Lucas 2, Rhys Van Nek, Brandon Paenga-Amosa 
Cons: Isaac Lucas 3 

Sydney 26 defeated by the Melbourne Rising 40
Tries: Shambeckler Vui, Mitchell Short, Charles Abel, Benjamin Marr
Cons: Will Harrison 
Melbourne Rising
Tries: Anaru Rangi 2, Justin Marsters 2, Taylor Acheson, Ahmu Tuimalealiifano
Cons: James Sooialo 5 

NSW Country Eagles 38 defeated Westerns Force 26 
NSW Country 
Tries: Mark Nawaqanitawase, Jake Gordon, Nigel Ah Wong, Ben Woollett 
Cons: Connor O’Shea 3, Mack Mason 
Pens: Connor O’Shea
Western Force 
Tries: Heath Tessmann, Leonaitasi Feke, Jonah Placif, Alifeleti Kaituu
Cons: Ian Prior 2, Andrew Deegan 

2019 National Rugby Championship Ladder:
1. Western Force, 19 points
2. NSW Country Eagles, 15 points
3. Canberra Vikings, 14 points
4. Brisbane City, 12 points
5. Queensland Country, 10 points
6. Fijian Drua, 9 points
7. Melbourne Rising, 9 points
8. Sydney, 6 points 

Latest News