Munster 2019 Award Winners

Munster 2019 Award Winners

Peter O’Mahony was named the Munster Men's Player of the Year at the annual Munster Rugby Awards on Tuesday evening.

The event took place at the University Concert Hall in Limerick with 11 awards presented to worthy recipients involved in professional and domestic rugby in Munster.

Centre Dan Goggin was named as Young Player of the Year and the John McCarthy Award for Greencore Munster Rugby Academy Player of the Year went to Craig Casey.

Ireland captain Ciara Griffin was named Munster Women’s Player of the Year and Donal Lenihan won the Hall of Fame award.

O’Mahony won Munster Rugby Player of the Year for the first time, ahead of Tadhg Beirne and Joey Carbery, after a hugely impressive season. The three players were nominated for the award by their team-mates with O’Mahony winning the public vote to add to the Young Player of the Year award he collected in 2012.

O’Mahony has made 16 starts so far this season and was instrumental in the province’s run to the Champions Cup semi-final and the Final Series of the Guinness PRO14.

Leading from the front, the flanker has been outstanding in the lineout and exceptional at the breakdown. He made 88 tackles and missed just three in this season’s Champions Cup, averaging 11 per game.

On the international front, O’Mahony was Man of the Match in Ireland’s momentous victory over the All Blacks in November. He played every single minute of the 2019 Six Nations campaign, winning Man of the Match award in the victories over Scotland and Italy.

He has also been nominated for the EPCR European Player of the Year award.

Full Story and list of winners


More News

Latest News