Leinster team named to face Saracens in Friendly

Leinster team named to face Saracens in Friendly

Nine players who featured against Benetton are named in the starting lineup

The Leinster Rugby team, proudly sponsored by Bank of Ireland, to take on Saracens in a Friendly in the StoneX Stadium tomorrow evening (KO: 7.30pm) has been named by Head Coach Leo Cullen.

Rhys Ruddock captains the team that includes nine players who featured in last week’s win over Benetton in the BKT United Rugby Championship, in the starting lineup.

After making his debut last week, Henry McErlean starts at full-back, with Academy duo Aitzol King and Andrew Osborne named on the wing.

Liam Turner and Ben Brownlee are in the centre, with Sam Prendergast and Ben Murphy named at half-back.

In the pack, Michael Milne returns for his first appearance of the season. He’s joined in the front row by John McKee and Rory McGuire.

Brian Deeny and Conor O’Tighearnaigh are named in the heart of the pack, while Ruddock is joined in the back-row by Will Connors and Diarmuid Mangan.

Among the replacements, Scott Penny, Max Deegan and Luke McGrath are joined by Pre-Academy duo Luke Kritzinger and Ruben Moloney.

Kritzinger has played for a Leinster Development XV this season, and was part of the Blackrock College team that reached last year’s Bank of Ireland Leinster Schools Senior Cup Final.

Moloney has represented Leinster at underage level, and was part of the 2022 Blackrock College team that won the Bank of Ireland Leinster Schools Senior Cup. The duo both play in the Energia AIL with UCD.

Leinster Rugby (caps in brackets)

15. Henry McErlean (1)
14. Aitzol King (1)
13. Liam Turner (24)
12. Ben Brownlee (5)
11. Andrew Osborne (0)
10. Sam Prendergast (11)
9. Ben Murphy (10)

1. Michael Milne (32)
2. John McKee (22)
3. Rory McGuire (3)
4. Brian Deeny (16)
5. Conor O’Tighearnaigh (1)
6. Rhys Ruddock (225) (CAPTAIN)
7. Will Connors (44)
8. Diarmuid Mangan (0)

Subs From:

Gus McCarthy (0)
Paddy McCarthy (4)
Thomas Clarkson (34)
Temi Lasisi (2)
Jason Jenkins (30)
Scott Penny (65)
Max Deegan (106)
Fintan Gunne (1)
Luke McGrath (202)
Luke Kritzinger (0)
Jamie Osborne (37)
Ruben Moloney (0)

Latest News