Junior Wallabies Squad for World Rugby U20s Championship named

Junior Wallabies Squad for World Rugby U20s Championship named

The Junior Wallabies Squad for Australia’s campaign at the World Rugby U20s Championship has been confirmed today with 28 players to depart for France later this month.

Australia takes on Wales, Japan and New Zealand in Pool A kicking off on Wednesday May 30 as the Junior Wallabies side looks to secure a position in the top four Semi Finals.

Isaac Lucas continues the Rugby pedigree of his family having been named in the squad as one of Australia’s backs alongside Tate McDermott and Ryan Lonergan who will tour as scrumhalves. Lucas’ older brothers include Matt Lucas (Brumbies), Ben Lucas (Queensland Reds) and Tom Lucas (Australian Sevens).  

Rugby Australia and the Queensland Reds have agreed that Hamish Stewart will not be considered for a return to the Junior Wallabies selection in 2018 due to his current involvement with Queensland’s Vodafone Super Rugby campaign.

Australia kicks off its campaign at Stade de la Mediterranee, Béziers, against Wales on Thursday 31 May.

2018 Junior Wallabies Squad, World Rugby U20s Championship

Angus Blyth, Bond University
Matt Faessler, Brothers  
George Francis, Eastwood
Esei Ha'angana, Melbourne Unicorns
Harry Hockings, University of Queensland
Josh Kemeny, Sydney University
Harry Hoopert, Brothers
Trevor Hosea, Harlequins
Efi Ma’afu, Wests
Sama Malolo, Endeavour Hills
Fraser McReight, Brothers
Josh Nasser, University of Queensland
Tom Ross, Gungahlin
Rory Suttor, Sydney University
Patrick Tafa, Norths (Sydney),
Rob Valentini, Wests

Lawson Creighton, Brothers
Mack Hansen, Gungahlin   
Tony Hunt, Norths (Brisbane)
Len Ikitau, Vikings
Bayley Kuenzle, Southern Districts
Isiah Latu, Queanbeyan
Ryan Lonergan, Vikings
Isaac Lucas, Sunnybank
Tate McDermott, University of Queensland
Matt McTaggert, Easts
Jordan Petaia, Wests
Semisi Tupou, Box Hill

2018 World Rugby U20s Championship Pool A Fixtures*:
Thursday 31 May
Australia v Wales, 5.00am AEST, Stade de la Mediterranee, Bézier
Sunday 3 June
Australia v Japan, 10.00pm AEST, Stade de la Mediterranee, Bézier
Friday 8 June
Australia v New Zealand, 5.00am AEST, Stade Aime-Giral, Perpignan
*Dates and times have been named as AEST

More News

Latest News