Hurricanes ready to travel to New South Wales

Hurricanes ready to travel to New South Wales

To celebrate the opening weekend of junior rugby, all registered junior players in the Wellington region have been given a free ticket to get along and support the Hurricanes as they welcome the NSW Waratahs to Sky Stadium, for week 11. 

Changes to the forward pack see Pouri Rakete-Stones, Devan Flanders and Peter Lakai come into the starting line-up while Justin Sangster is on the bench. Hawkes Bay's Kianu Kereru-Symes makes his first start for the team, named at Hooker. 

In the backs, Richard Judd starts in the nine jersey with Brett Cameron at 10, while Riley Higgins and Billy Proctor combine in midfield. After two matches off the bench post injury, Bailyn Sullivan starts on the left wing, opposite Josh Moorby with Ruben Love in the boot. 

There is considerable firepower from the bench with Du’Plessis Kirifi, TJ Perenara, Jordie Barrett and Salesi Rayasi set for action later in proceedings.  

Head Coach, Clark Laidlaw said “Given the intensity which the game is played at, we’re really pleased with the balance of our squad, the management as a whole, from coaches, to medical and S&C have done an amazing job to keep the men fresh and ready to play well.” 

On returning to Sky Stadium, Laidlaw said “It’s always nice to get home and play in front of our home fans - it’s something we never take for granted and to be able to welcome all our local junior Hurricanes into the stadium, is something we’re really looking forward to.” 

Hurricanes fans can get out and support their team, with two-for-one bronze tickets available. 

The Hurricanes team to take on the NSW Waratahs this Friday and 7:05pm 

1. Pouri Rakete-Stones 
2. Kianu Kereru-Symes
3. Tyrel Lomax  
4. Caleb Delany 
5. Isaia Walker-Leawere  
6. Devan Flanders 
7. Peter Lakai 
8. Brayden Iose  
9. Richard Judd 
10. Brett Cameron  
11. Bailyn Sullivan 
12. Riley Higgins  
13. Billy Proctor (C) 
14. Josh Moorby 
15. Ruben Love  
16. Raymond Tuputupu  
17. Xavier Numia 
18. Pasilio Tosi  
19. Justin Sangster 
20. Du’Plessis Kirifi 
21. Richard Judd  
22. Jordie Barrett  
23. Salesi Rayasi  

Latest News