Hurricanes 2020 squad announced

Hurricanes 2020 squad announced

Highly rated prop Tyrel Lomax and lock Scott Scrafton are two big additions to the Hurricanes squad for the 2020 Super Rugby season.

One test All Black Lomax has moved to the club on a four-year deal as he looks to become the cornerstone of the Hurricanes scrum while Scrafton will add to his two-metre frame to the tight five.

The 2020 squad also includes 27-year-old South African Kobus van Wyk, who can play in the midfield or on the wing, and has plenty of Super Rugby experience having previously played for the Stomers and Sharks.

As well as van Wyk, Plumtree has added a further seven new players to the Hurricanes squad.

Hawke's Bay prop Pouri Rakete-Stones has been included and replaces Toby Smith along with young loose forward Devan Flanders who is joined by provincial team-mate Danny Toala who has already represented the Hurricanes after making his debut against the Blues in 2019.

Counties Manukau halfback Jonathan Taumateine comes to the Hurricanes via the Chiefs and is joined by Jamie Booth who spent the 2019 Super Rugby season with the Sunwolves after previously representing the club.

There is plenty of experience to call on with Dane Coles, Ben May, Ricky Riccitelli, Vaea Fifita, Ardie Savea, James Marshall, Ngani Laumape and Vince Aso former Super Rugby champions with the Hurricanes.

The 2020 Hurricanes squad is:

Backs (17):

Outside backs: Jordie Barrett (Taranaki), Ben Lam (Wellington), Jonah Lowe (Hawke’s Bay), Kobus van Wyk*, Vince Aso (Wellington), Wes Goosen (Wellington), Chase Tiatia (Bay of Plenty)

Midfield backs: Ngani Laumape (Manawatu), Billy Proctor (Wellington), Danny Toala (Hawke's Bay)*, Peter Umaga-Jensen (Wellington).

First fives: Jackson Garden-Bachop (Wellington), Fletcher Smith (Waikato), James Marshall.

Halfbacks: TJ Perenara (Wellington), Jonathan Taumateine (Counites Manukau), Jamie Booth (Manawatu).

Forwards (21)

Loose forwards: Gareth Evans (Hawke’s Bay), Vaea Fifita (Wellington),  Du’Plessis Kirifi (Wellington),  Reed Prinsep (Canterbury), Ardie Savea (Wellington), Devan Flanders (Hawke's Bay)*, Murphy Taramai (North Harbour)*.

Locks: James Blackwell (Wellington),  Liam Mitchell (Manawatu), Isaia Walker-Leawere (Wellington), Scott Scrafton (Auckland)*, Kane Leaupepe (Bay of Plenty).

Props: Fraser Armstrong (Manawatu), Alex Fidow (Wellington), Ben May (Hawke’s Bay), Xavier Numia (Wellington), Pouri Rakete-Stones (Hawke's Bay)*, Tyrel Lomax (Tasman)*.

Hookers: Asafo Aumua (Wellington), Dane Coles (Wellington), Ricky Riccitelli (Taranaki).

More News

Latest News