Grégory Alldritt voted 2023 EPCR Player of the Year

Grégory Alldritt voted 2023 EPCR Player of the Year

The Stade Rochelais No 8 and captain, Grégory Alldritt, has capped off an outstanding EPCR season by being voted as the 2023 EPCR Player of the Year.

A leading light in the Stade Rochelais Heineken Champions Cup final triumph over Leinster Rugby, Alldritt is the second French player to win the prestigious individual accolade following in the footsteps of Stade Toulousain’s Antoine Dupont in 2021.

He was presented with the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy by Olive Foley and her two sons, Tony and Dan, following the showpiece match at Dublin’s Aviva Stadium.

More than 32,000 votes were cast by fans on and the public’s verdict was combined with the decision of an expert panel of judges and the impressive Alldritt came out on top.

Also elected Heineken Star of the Match in the final, Alldritt scooped the award ahead of Leinster’s Caelan Doris, Garry Ringrose and Josh van der Flier, as well as Dupont who were all included in the elite five-player shortlist.

He is the sixth representative of a TOP 14 to receive the distinction after Jonny Wilkinson (2013) and Steffon Armitage (2014) of RC Toulon, ASM Clermont Auvergne’s Nick Abendanon in 2015, Leone Nakarawa of Racing 92 in 2018, and Dupont.

Judging Panel
– Bryan Habana (two-time Heineken Champions Cup winner), Sarah Hunter (former England captain), Elma Smit (sports presenter and producer), Andy Goode (two-time Heineken Cup winner), Dimitri Yachvili (France Télévisions and Challenge Cup winner)

Roll of Honour
2023: Garry Ringrose (Leinster Rugby)
2022: Josh van der Flier (Leinster Rugby)
2021: Antoine Dupont (Stade Toulousain)
2020: Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs)
2019: Alex Goode (Saracens)
2018: Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92)
2017: Owen Farrell (Saracens)
2016: Maro Itoje (Saracens)
2015: Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne)
2014: Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon)
2013: Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon)
2012: Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby)
2011: Sean O’Brien (Leinster Rugby)
2010: Ronan O’Gara (Munster Rugby – best player of first 15 years of European club rugby)

Latest News