EPCR European Player of the Year 2019 shortlist announced

EPCR European Player of the Year 2019 shortlist announced

15 initial nominees for the prestigious European Player of the Year 2019 award have been reduced to five based on the combined verdict of a distinguished panel of rugby experts and a public vote.

The final five include players from Leinster Rugby and Saracens, who have been rewarded for the outstanding performances that have brought their clubs to next month’s Champions Cup decider in Newcastle.

Sean Cronin, Tadhg Furlong and Garry Ringrose are aiming to match the achievements of Leinster teammates Sean O’Brien and Rob Kearney, who won the prized individual accolade in 2011 and 2012, while Saracens’ Alex Goode and Mako Vunipola are looking to follow in the footsteps of Maro Itoje and Owen Farrell, winners in 2016 and 2017 respectively.

Voting has now reopened on epcrugby.com/epoty and the winner and recipient of the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy will be announced following the Heineken Champions Cup final at St James’ Park on Saturday 11 May.

EPCR European Player of the Year 2019 shortlist

Sean Cronin (Leinster Rugby)

Tadhg Furlong (Leinster Rugby)

Alex Goode (Saracens)

Garry Ringrose (Leinster Rugby)

Mako Vunipola (Saracens)

2018/19 panel of judges: Bryan Habana (Channel 4), Chris Jones (BBC Radio 5 Live), Mathieu Lartot (France Télévisions), Emmanuel Massicard (Midi Olympique), Brian O’Driscoll (BT Sport), Dimitri Yachvili (beIN SPORTS).

Roll of Honour

2018: Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92)
2017: Owen Farrell (Saracens)
2016: Maro Itoje (Saracens)
2015: Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne)
2014: Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon)
2013: Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon)
2012: Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby)
2011: Sean O’Brien (Leinster Rugby)
2010: Ronan O’Gara (Munster Rugby – best player of first 15 years of European club rugby)

Latest News