Bath ready for home semi-final

Bath ready for home semi-final

Johann van Graan names his matchday-23 to take to the green of The Rec for the final time this season.

Ready to take on Sale Sharks, Head of Rugby, Johann van Graan, has named one change to his side that stormed to victory over Northampton Saints in Round 18, securing the Blue, Black and White second place in the league table and a home play-off fixture.

Getting his eighth start in a row, prop Beno Obano takes the starting loosehead jersey.

Tom Dunn will feature as hooker, with Thomas du Toit completing the starting front row line-up.

Quinn Roux and Charlie Ewels are named again in the second row after delivering strong performances together against Newcastle Falcons and Northampton Saints in recent weeks.

Across the back row, Ted Hill and Sam Underhill take the blindside and openside positions respectively.

Alfie Barbeary trades places with Josh Bayliss on the bench to start at Number 8.

Captain, Ben Spencer, will command from scrum-half, partnered with Finn Russell at fly-half.

Across the backline, van Graan copy and pastes his selection from Round 18 with Will Muir and Joe Cokanasiga retaining their positions on the wings.

Cameron Redpath and Ollie Lawrence will pair up in the centre and Matt Gallagher completes the starting line-up at fullback.

Niall Annett, Juan Schoeman and Will Stuart take their spots on the bench, with Elliott Stooke, Miles Reid and Bayliss being named as replacement loose forwards.

Louis Schreuder and Orlando Bailey take the replacement back positions.

The man in the middle to referee the fixture is Luke Pearce, supported by Tom Foley and Sara Cox along the sidelines and Stuart Terheege in the TMO box.

A victory in this game will see Bath Rugby compete in the Gallagher Premiership final at Twickenham on the Saturday 8 June.

Bath Rugby XV: 1 Beno Obano, 2 Tom Dunn, 3 Thomas du Toit, 4 Quinn Roux, 5 Charlie Ewels, 6 Ted Hill, 7 Sam Underhill, 8 Alfie Barbeary, 9 Ben Spencer (c), 10 Finn Russell, 11 Will Muir, 12 Cameron Redpath, 13 Ollie Lawrence, 14 Joe Cokanasiga, 15 Matt Gallagher

Replacements: 16 Niall Annett, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 Will Stuart, 19 Elliott Stooke, 20 Josh Bayliss, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Orlando Bailey, 23 Miles Reid

Sale Sharks XV:  1 Bevan Rodd, 2 Tommy Taylor, 3 James Harper, 4 Cobus Wiese, 5 Hyron Andrews, 6 Ben Curry (c), 7 Sam Dugdale, 8 Jean-Luc du Preez, 9 Gus Warr, 10 George Ford, 11 Tom O'Flaherty, 12 Rob du Preez, 13 Sam James, 14 Tom Roebuck, 15 Joe Carpenter

Replacements:  16 Agustin Creevy, 17 Si McIntyre, 18 WillGriff John, 19 Ben Bamber, 20 Ernst van Rhyn, 21 Raffi Quirke, 22 Luke James, 23 Tom Curry

Latest News