Academy full-back Henry McErlean is set to make his Leinster debut

Academy full-back Henry McErlean is set to make his Leinster debut

The Leinster Rugby team, proudly sponsored by Bank of Ireland, to take on Benetton Rugby in the BKT United Rugby Championship tomorrow afternoon in the RDS Arena has been named by Head Coach Leo Cullen.

As part of the URC’s Origin Round, all players will pay tribute to the clubs and schools where they began their rugby journeys, ahead of the game.

Academy full-back Henry McErlean will make his Leinster debut. He was part of the Ireland team that won last year’s Under-20 Six Nations.

Tommy O’Brien and Rob Russell are named on the wings, with Liam Turner and a returning Jamie Osborne partnering each other in the centre.

For the first time this season, Ross Byrne and Luke McGrath partner each other in the half-backs. The duo have over a combined 350 Leinster caps.

In the pack, Jack Boyle and Thomas Clarkson pack down either side of Lee Barron in the front row. Ross Molony and Jason Jenkins are named in the second row.

Captain Scott Penny is joined in the back row by Will Connors and Max Deegan.

In the replacements, John McKee returns for the first time since sustaining an injury in the season opener against Glasgow Warriors, while Ben Brownlee is in line for his first appearance of the season.

Leinster Rugby (caps in brackets)

15. Henry McErlean - St. Michael’s College (0)
14. Tommy O’Brien - Blackrock College (31)
13. Liam Turner - Blackrock College (23)
12. Jamie Osborne - Naas RFC (36)
11. Rob Russell - Wanderers FC / St. Michael’s College (24)
10. Ross Byrne - Old Belvedere RFC / St. Michael’s College (201)
9. Luke McGrath - Old Belvedere RFC / St. Michael’s College (151)

1. Jack Boyle - Old Wesley RFC / St Michael’s College (9)
2. Lee Barron - St. Michael’s College / Lansdowne FC (13)
3. Thomas Clarkson - Wicklow RFC / Blackrock College (33)
4. Ross Molony - Lansdowne FC / St. Michael’s College (171)
5. Jason Jenkins - St Alban's College (29)
6. Will Connors - North Kildare RFC / Clongowes Wood College (43)
7. Scott Penny - Lansdowne FC / St. Michael’s College (64) CAPTAIN
8. Max Deegan - Wanderers FC / St. Michael’s College (105)


16. John McKee - Ards RFC (21)
17. Ed Byrne - Carlow RFC (98)
18. Michael Ala’alatoa - West Harbour RFC (58)
19. Brian Deeny - Wexford Wanderers RFC (16)
20. Rhys Ruddock - South Gower RFC (224)
21. Ben Murphy - Seapoint Rugby Club / Presentation College, Bray (9)
22. Sam Prendergast - Newbridge RFC / Newbridge College (10)
23. Ben Brownlee - Wanderers FC / Blackrock College (4)

Latest News